A/PROF Linda Kouvaras

A/PROF Linda Kouvaras


  • Contemporary western music (esp. Australian); gender issues in music (incl. popular music of the 1960s-80s); original composition; piano music (modernism and postmodernism; sound art)



  • A/Prof Linda Kouvaras is a musicologist, composer and pianist. She holds a continuing position in Music at the Melbourne Conservatorium of Music, the University of Melbourne, and publishes in contemporary music, both classical and popular, focusing especially on Australian music, postmodernism and gender issues in music. After several years in the late 1970s and early 1980s playing in rock and New Wave/Punk bands and for theatre productions, Linda resumed classical piano studies in the UK in 1984, returning to complete her studies at the Faculty of Music, University of Melbourne, under A/Profs Ronald Farren-Price and Max Cooke, culminating in a Masters Degree in Piano in 1991. Her research work was supervised by Dr Brenton Broadstock, Dr Naomi Cumming, and historian Dr David Goodman and led to her PhD in Musicology in 1996. She has taught in tertiary Music since 1989. Linda Kouvaras's publications appear in all of Australia's musicological journals and in international forums. A substantial Australian Research Council Discovery Project Grant (2005-08), where she was co-Chief Investigator, led to her monograph, https://www.ashgate.com/isbn/9781409441564 (Ashgate, 2013). This book was awarded the Rebecca Coyle Publication Prize in 2014 for the “publication representing popular music in the Australia-New Zealand region in a given year” through the International Association for the Study of Popular Music, Australia / New Zealand. It has also garnered several reviews, all favourable, and has led to invitations for Linda to speak in public forums. Recordings of her works and piano performances appear on Move Records, with the ABC and independent release; they receive frequent radio broadcasts. Her compositions are played at recitals and festivals nationally and internationally. She has full composer representation with APRA-AMCOS and also publishes with Reed Music. Her solo CD is Kouvaras: PianoWorks (Move Records, 2000) and the most recent CD recording to feature her m   


Member of

  • American Musicological Society. Ordinary 2006 -
  • IASPM Aust-NZ. Ordinary 2006 -
  • Australasian Performing Rights Association. Writer full member 2000 -
  • Senior Common Room, Ormond College. Ordinary 1993 -
  • Australian Music Centre. Ordinary 1992 -
  • Musicological Society of Australia. Ordinary 1992 -


Selected publications



Education and training

  • PhD, University of Melbourne 1996
  • MMus, University of Melbourne 1991
  • BMus (Hons), University of Melbourne 1988
  • AMusA, Australian Music Examinations Board 1986

Awards and honors

  • Recording of 1-min Work 60x60 Melbourne: Welcome to Melbourne, Australasian Computer Music Conference 2014 Commission, 2014
  • Research projects, Faculty Special Studies Leave (Long) (SSP(L)) program Semester 2, 2012
  • Fanfare for Brass and Percussion, for Melbourne Town Hall concert to celebrate newly amalgamated Faculty, School of Music, the University of Melbourne Commission, 2010
  • 3-week Residency, Bundanon Artist in Residence Program, 2010
  • Full Composer Representation, Australian Music Centre, 2009
  • Co-Chief Investigator, Discovery Project: Postmodernism in contemporary Australian art music: analysis and reappraisal, Australian Research Council, 2005
  • Co-Chief Investigator: Pilot Study for the First Sustained Investigation of Postmodernism in Australian Art-Music', Faculty of Arts Seeding Grant, 2004
  • Young Voices of Melbourne, Arts Victoria Commission, 2003
  • Chief Investigator: Constructions of Identity in Contemporary Australian Art Music, Early Career MRDG (Melbourne Research Development Grant), 2002
  • 5-week Residency, Bundanon Artist in Residence Program, 2001
  • To record CD of original piano works, Ian Potter Grant, 2000
  • 6-week Residency, Bundanon Artist in Residence Program, 2000
  • To undertake Doctoral Degree, Mabel Kent Scholarship, 1993
  • To undertake Doctoral Degree, Melbourne University Postgraduate Scholarship, 1992
  • Hugh Williamson Fellowship, 1991
  • To undertake Masters Degree (Piano), Australian Postgraduate Research Award, 1990
  • For 4th-Year Hons pianist, continuing piano studies, Doris F. Chandler Memorial Bursary, 1989
  • To undertake Masters Degree (Piano), Commonwealth Postgraduate Research Award, 1989
  • For best student in final year of course, Catherine Grace McWilliam Prize, 1989
  • For Pianoforte performance, Una Bourne Scholarship, 1987
  • For academic merit, Ivy May Pendlebury Bursary, 1987
  • For Pianist entering 4th Year who shows the most promise in the interpretation of the classical music, Florence Menck Meyer Prize, 1987
  • For A student who has completed the first two years of the course and who shows promise worthy of develop, Eric and Linda Jullyan Memorial Scholarship, 1986
  • For Pianoforte Performance, Una Bourne Scholarship, 1986
  • For The student who has completed the second year of the degree course and who is placed first in the class list i, Wright Prize in Instrumental Music, 1986
  • In piano, First Prize Athanasas Karabatsas Instrumentalists and Singers Competition, 1986



Available for supervision

  • Y

Supervision Statement

  • Expertise in contemporary classical music, gender issues, Australian contemporary classical music, sound art/noise, popular music studies, the performance/research nexus; modernism, postmodernism