DR David McInnis

DR David McInnis


  • Early modern drama (theatre history, lost plays)
  • Early modern literature (travel writing)
  • Shakespeare



  • David McInnis is a Senior Lecturer in Shakespeare Studies in the English and Theatre Studies program. In 2016 he was jointly awarded the Australian Academy of the Humanities’ Max Crawford Medal (granted to early-career researchers for outstanding scholarly achievement in the humanities in Australia). He is author of Mind-Travelling and Voyage Drama in Early Modern England (Palgrave, 2013), co-editor (with Claire Jowitt) of Travel and Drama in Early Modern England: The Journeying Play (Cambridge UP, 2018), co-editor (with Matthew Steggle) of Lost Plays in Shakespeare's England (Palgrave, 2014), and editor of Thomas Dekker's Old Fortunatus for the Revels Plays series (forthcoming, 2019). He is currently editing a new volume on loss and the literary culture of Shakespeare's time, and Tamburlaine: A Critical Reader for the Arden Early Modern Drama Guides. With Roslyn L. Knutson and Matthew Steggle, he is founder and co-editor of the Lost Plays Database.

    For up to date details, please click here: David McInnis CV   


Member of

  • Malone Society. Treasurer and Council member 2012 -
  • World Shakespeare Bibliography. Australian Affiliate 2012 -
  • Shakespeare Association of America (SAA). Member 2009 -
  • Marlowe Society of America (MSA). Secretary and Executive Committee member; Roma Gill Prize Committee member 2008 -
  • Australian and New Zealand Shakespeare Association (ANZSA). Vice President, Executive Committee member and Bulletin Editor 2006 -
  • International Shakespeare Association (ISA). Member 2006 - 2011


Selected publications


Additional Grant Information

  • Short-Term Fellowship, Folger Shakespeare Library (Washington DC), 2011.
    Shakespeare Association of America (SAA) Research Travel Grant, 2012   


Education and training

  • PhD, University of Melbourne 2011
  • MA, University of Toronto 2007
  • BA (Hons), University of Melbourne 2006
  • BCom, University of Melbourne 2006

Awards and honors

  • Barbara Falk Award for Teaching Excellence (2019), University of Melbourne, 2019
  • University Award for Excellence in Engagement – Public Value (2017), University of Melbourne, 2017
  • Max Crawford Medal (2016) (Australia's most prestigious award for achievement and promise in the humanities), The Australian Academy of the Humanities, 2016


Available for supervision

  • Y