placeholder image

PROF Ingrid Scheffer




  • Chair of Paediatrics, The Florey Institute, and Neurology Research, Departments of Medicine & Paediatrics, the University of Melbourne, Austin Health and Royal Children's Hospital, Melbourne. Director of Paediatrics, Austin Health, Melbourne, Australia.

    Professor Scheffer is a paediatric neurologist and epileptologist at the University of Melbourne, Australia. Her work together with Professor Sam Berkovic and molecular geneticists at the Women's and Children's Hospital in Adelaide, has led the field of epilepsy genetics research over the last 21 years. This collaboration resulted in identification of the first epilepsy gene and more than half of the genes currently known. Professor Scheffer has described many novel epilepsy syndromes and continues to work on genotype-phenotype correlation. Professor Scheffer's research interests include genetics of epilepsy, epilepsy syndrome classification, and genetics of autism spectrum disorders and speech and language disorders. She was awarded the 2007 American Epilepsy Society Clinical Research Recognition Award, the 2009 Eric Susman Prize from the Royal Australasian College of Physicians and the L'Oreal-UNESCO Women in Science Laureate for the Asia-Pacific region for 2012. Professor Scheffer is currently Chair of the International League Against Epilepsy Commission for Classification and Terminology. Very recently, Professor Scheffer was awarded the 2013 GlaxoSmithKline Award for Research Excellence for helping to transform the diagnosis of epilepsy.   


Member of

  • American Epilepsy Society. Member 2007 - 2008
  • Annals of Neurology Editorial Board. Member 2007 - 2008
  • Asian and Oceanian Child Neurology Association. Member 2007 - 2008
  • Australian Association of Neurologists. Member 2007 - 2008
  • Australian Medical Association. Member 2007 - 2008
  • Australian Society of Medical Research. Member 2007 - 2008
  • Epilepsy Society of Australia. Drug Evaluation Committee Member 2007 - 2008
  • Epileptic Disorders Editorial Board. Member 2007 - 2008
  • NHMRC Association of Research Fellows. Member 2007 - 2008
  • Royal Australasian College of Physicians. Member 2007 - 2008
  • International Child Neurology Association. Member 2007


Selected publications


Investigator on


Education and training

  • PhD, University of Melbourne 1998
  • BS, Monash University 1983
  • MB, Monash University 1983

Awards and honors

  • GlaxoSmithKline 2013 Award for Research Excellence, 2013
  • 2012 Laureate for the Asia-Pacific region, L'Oreal-UNESCO For Women in Science, 2011
  • NHMRC Practitioner Fellowship (2011-2015)), NHMRC, 2010
  • Eric Susman Prize, Royal Australasian College of Physicians, 2010
  • Research Recognition Award for Clinical Research, American Epilepsy Society, 2007
  • Practitioner Fellowship 2001 - 2005, NHMRC, 2000
  • Chancellor's Prize and Harbison-Higinbothan Research Scholarship, The University of Melbourne, 1998
  • Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians, 1992


Available for supervision

  • Y