PROF Peter Choong

PROF Peter Choong


  • Advanced Biofabrication and Manufacturing (3D printing, additive manufacturing, live cell printing)
  • Bionic limbs for limb salvage surgery (Robotics)
  • Outcomes research in Orthopaedics (Joint replacement surgery)
  • Outcomes research in bone and soft tissue tumours (sarcoma, bone cancer,)
  • Robotics in surgery (Surgical technique)
  • Tissue Engineering in orthopaedics ( Cartilage, Muscle, Nerve)



  • Professor Peter Choong is the Sir Hugh Devine Professor and Chair of Surgery at St. Vincent’s Hospital Melbourne (2009-). In this role, he is head of academic surgery at St. Vincent’s Hospital and leads a vibrant programme of teaching, training and research across the surgical disciplines. Through, his Department of Surgery portfolio role of Research Lead, he is also responsible for developing and supporting the relevant strategies and infrastructure to drive the growth and success of surgical research across the 6 University of Melbourne hospital campuses (St. Vincent’s, Royal Melbourne, Austin, Western, Northern, Royal Victorian Eye an Ear Hospitals). Professor Choong also leads an ambitious programme of musculoskeletal research that includes basic science, bioengineering and clinico-epidemiology. His multidisciplinary research programme is characterised by 3 distinct but related themes including, degenerative joint disease, orthopaedic tumours and advanced limb reconstruction. These themes speak to the role that musculoskeletal conditions play as a leading cause of disability and underpin the clinical programmes he has led over the last 20 years in orthopaedics and orthopaedic oncology. Professor Choong’s research places him in the top 0.5% of published researchers in totaljoint replacement and sarcoma research worldwide (Expertscape) and his knowledge and skills in collaborating, mentoring and inspiring researchers has allowed him to build and lead a multidisciplinary and talented team of scientists and clinicians. His research is fully funded by recurrent NHMRC, ARC, CRC and NGO funding (career >$25,000,000). Professor Choong’s clinical research is driven by big data. He conceived and established the St.Vincent’s Melbourne Arthroplasty Outcomes Registry (SMART registry) which is a unique Australiansurgical registry that drives his OA surgery outcomes research. This valuable asset has underpinned his team’s research success which has resulted in the recent award   


Member of

  • St Vincent’s Hospital Human Research Ethics Committee. Committee Member 2016 -
  • Australian Academy of Health and Medical Science. Fellow 2015 -
  • Hallmark Materials Research Initiative Steering Committee, UoM. Steering Committee Member 2015 -
  • Centre for Health Exercise and Sports Medicine, Department of Physiotherapy, UoM. Member 2014 -
  • Commonwealth Department of Health, Aging and Community Services. Panel on the use of PET in Sarcoma and Glioma, Medical Services Advisory Committee 2009 -
  • Australian Orthopaedic Association. Director, Education and Training 2008 -
  • Board of Australian Orthopaedic Association. Executive 2008 -
  • Board of Australian Sarcoma Study Group. Member 2008 -
  • Orthopaedic Services Committee - Australian Orthopaedic Association. Member 2008 -
  • Australian Orthopaedic Association. Board Member 2004 -
  • International Society of Limb Salvage Surgery. Honorary Secretary 2003 -
  • International Society of Limb Salvage Surgery. Board Member 2001 -
  • Asio-Pacific Musculoskeletal Tumour Society. Board Member 1999 -
  • Australian Sarcoma Group. Member 1997 -
  • Board of Orthopaedic Surgery - Royal Australasian College of Surgeons. Chair 2008 - 2011


Selected publications


Investigator on


Education and training

  • MAICD, Australian Institute of Company Directors 2017
  • FAAHMS, 2015
  • MD, University of Melbourne 1993
  • MBBS, University of Melbourne 1984

Awards and honors

  • SVHA Award for Excellence & Reputation, 2105
  • NHMRC Practitioner Fellowship, 2019
  • NHMRC Research Excellence Award, 2019
  • Jepson Lecturer, Surgical Research Society, 2015
  • Melbourne Award, 2015
  • CSIRO Award, 2015
  • AOA Research Excellence Award, 2015
  • Mayo Clinic Mark Coventry Visiting Professor, 2015
  • RACS John Mitchell Crouch Fellowship, 2008
  • Chinese University Hong Kong Visiting Professor, 2008
  • Paul Harris Fellow for Services to the community in the field of Cancer Surgery, Rotary International, 2007
  • Inaugural Award For Leadership by the AOA, 2005
  • Sam Sciacca Foundation Fellowship, 2005
  • Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre Award for Compassion, 2004
  • Mayo Clinic Ivins Visiting Professor, 2003
  • AOA Ambassadorial Fellow, 1996
  • Fellow of the Australian Orthopaedic Association, 1996
  • Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons, 1991


Available for supervision

  • Y