PROF Douglas Hilton

PROF Douglas Hilton


  • Molecular regulation of blood cell formation (genetics, signal transduction)



  • Prof. Doug Hilton is the 6th Director of the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute, Head of its division of Molecular Medicine and head of the Department of Medical Biology in the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences at the University of Melbourne.

    He is best known for his discoveries in the area of cytokine signalling, particularly the isolation and cloning of an entirely novel family of negative regulators of cytokine signalling, the SOCS proteins.

    The Hilton lab aims to understand which of the 30,000 genes are important in the production and function of blood cells, and how this information can be used to better prevent, diagnose and treat blood cell diseases such as leukaemia, arthritis and asthma. Prof. Hilton has been awarded numerous prizes for his research into how blood cells communicate and has led major collaborations with industry to translate his discoveries from the bench to the bedside. He is an inventor of more than 20 patent families, most of which have been licensed, and is a co-founder of the biotechnology company MuriGen.    


Member of

  • Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences. Fellow 2015 -
  • Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering. Fellow 2010 -
  • American Society of Hematology. Member 2009 -
  • International Society for Stem Cell Research. Member 2006 -
  • International Society for Interferon and Cytokine Research. Member 2005 -
  • Australian Academy of Science. Fellow 2004 -
  • International Cytokine Society. Member 2004 -
  • American Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. Member 2001 -
  • Australian Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. Member 2000 -
  • Australian Society of Medical Research. Member 1999 -


Selected publications


Investigator on

  • Grant

    • STEM CELLS AUSTRALIA (ARC Special Research Initiatives Stem Cell Science)  awarded by FLOREY NEUROSCIENCES INSTITUTE(DO NOT USE 264212) 2011 - 2019


Education and training

  • PhD, University of Melbourne 1990
  • BSc (Hons), University of Melbourne 1986
  • BSc, Monash University 1985

Awards and honors

  • Outstanding Mentor to Young Researchers, Australian Museum Eureka Prizes, 2012
  • Lemberg Medal, Australian Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, 2012
  • Leadership and Innovation Award, Research Australia, 2011
  • Seymour & Vivian Milstein Award for excellence in interferon and cytokine research, International Society of Interferon and Cytokine Research, 2011
  • Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, 2010
  • The Age Magazine Top 100 People, The Age, 2009
  • Bright Spark Award "Australia's Top 10 Scientific Minds Under 45", COSMOS, 2006
  • Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, 2004
  • GSK Australia Award for Research Excellence, GSK Australia, 2003
  • Inaugural Commonwealth Health Minister's Award for Excellence in Health and Medical Research, Australian Government, 2001
  • AMGEN Medical Research Award, Australian Society of Medical Research, 2000
  • Victorian Tall Poppy, Australian Institute of Policy and Science, 1999
  • Gottschalk Medal, Australian Academy of Science, 1998
  • Burnet Prize, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, 1997
  • Graham Middleton Research Award, Anti Cancer Council Victoria, 1996
  • Hillcrest Friendship Club Research Award, Anti Cancer Council Victoria, 1994
  • Victorian Young Achiever of the Year, Victorian Government, 1989
  • SEC Science and Technology Award, SEC, 1989
  • Post-graduate Scholarship, Anti Cancer Council Victoria, 1987
  • Macfarlane Burnet Prize, The University of Melbourne, 1986
  • Vacation Scholarship, Australian National University, 1984



Available for supervision

  • Y