PROF Michael Berk

PROF Michael Berk


  • Bipolar disorder (Depression)



  • Professor Michael Berk is currently a NHMRC Senior Principal research Fellow, and is Alfred Deakin Chair of Psychiatry at Deakin University and Barwon Health, where he heads the IMPACT Strategic Research Centre. He also is an Honorary Professorial Research fellow in the Department of Psychiatry, the Florey Institute for Neuroscience and Mental Health and Orygen Youth Health at Melbourne University, as well as in the School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine at Monash University. He is past president of the International Society for Bipolar disorders and the Australasian Society or Bipolar and Depressive Disorders. He is an ISI highly cited researcher who has published over 800 papers predominantly in mood disorders. His major interests are in the discovery and implementation of novel therapies, and risk factors and prevention of psychiatric disorders. He is the recipient of a number of national and international awards including the Brain and behaviour Foundation Colvin prize, and holds grants from the National Institutes of Health (US), Simon Autism Foundation, NHMRC CRE and project grants, Beyondblue and Stanley Medical Research Institute and is a lead investigator in a Collaborative Research Centre.   


Member of

  • International Society for Bipolar Disorders. President 2008 -
  • Australasian Society for Bipolar Disorders. Member 2007 -
  • Australian Medical Association - Victoria. Registered member 2004 -
  • Collegium Internationale Neuropsychopharmacologicum. Membership committee 2004 -
  • European College of Neuropsychopharmacology. Member 2002 -
  • Medical Practitioners Board of Victoria. Registered member 2002 -


Selected publications


Investigator on


Education and training

  • PhD, University of Pretoria 1994
  • MMed(Psych), University of Witwatersrand 1989
  • MB BCh, University of Witwatersrand 1982

Awards and honors

  • World Association of Young People ~ The Trophy Award for Excellent Research Study, 2007
  • Department of Innovation, Industry and regional Development Smart Geelong Research & Learning Expo: Biomedical Highly Commended Award, 2007
  • Barwon Health Mental Health - Contribution to Mental Health Service, 2002
  • Fellow of the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists, 2001
  • Lundbeck Bursary for Research in Biological Psychiatry, 1992
  • Louis Franklin Freed Medal for Psychological Medicine, 1989



Available for supervision

  • Y