Journal article

Constraints on the richness-mass relation and the optical-SZE positional offset distribution for SZE-selected clusters

A Saro, S Bocquet, E Rozo, BA Benson, J Mohr, ES Rykoff, M Soares-Santos, L Bleem, S Dodelson, P Melchior, F Sobreira, V Upadhyay, J Weller, T Abbott, FB Abdalla, S Allam, R Armstrong, M Banerji, AH Bauer, M Bayliss Show all



We cross-match galaxy cluster candidates selected via their Sunyaev-Zel'dovich effect (SZE) signatures in 129.1 deg2 of the South Pole Telescope 2500d SPT-SZ survey with optically identified clusters selected from the Dark Energy Survey science verification data. We identify 25 clusters between 0.1 ≲ z ≲ 0.8 in the union of the SPT-SZ and redMaPPer (RM) samples. RM is an optical cluster finding algorithm that also returns a richness estimate for each cluster. We model the richness λ-mass relation with the following function 〈lnλ|M500〉 ∝ BλlnM500 + Cλln E(z) and use SPT-SZ cluster masses and RM richnesses λ to constrain the parameters. We find Bλ = 1.14-0.18+0.21 and Cλ = 0.73-0.75+0.77. The ..

View full abstract

University of Melbourne Researchers


Awarded by National Science Foundation

Awarded by NSF Physics Frontier Center

Awarded by Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation

Awarded by Australian Research Council's Discovery Projects scheme

Awarded by MINECO

Awarded by Centro de Excelencia Severo Ochoa

Awarded by Science and Technology Facilities Council

Awarded by Direct For Mathematical & Physical Scien

Awarded by Office of Polar Programs (OPP)

Funding Acknowledgements

We acknowledge the support by the DFG Cluster of Excellence 'Origin and Structure of the Universe', the Transregio program TR33 'The Dark Universe' and the Ludwig-Maximilians University. The South Pole Telescope is supported by the National Science Foundation through grant PLR-1248097. Partial support is also provided by the NSF Physics Frontier Center grant PHY-1125897 to the Kavli Institute of Cosmological Physics at the University of Chicago, the Kavli Foundation and the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation grant GBMF 947. AAS acknowledges a Pell grant from the Smithsonian Institution. TDH is supported by a Miller Research Fellowship. This work was partially completed at Fermilab, operated by Fermi Research Alliance, LLC under contract no. De-AC02-07CH11359 with the United States Department of Energy. The Dark Cosmology Centre is funded by the Danish National Research Foundation. CR acknowledges support from the Australian Research Council's Discovery Projects scheme (DP150103208). Funding for the DES Projects has been provided by the US Department of Energy, the US National Science Foundation, the Ministry of Science and Education of Spain, the Science and Technology Facilities Council of the United Kingdom, the Higher Education Funding Council for England, the National Center for Supercomputing Applications at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, the Kavli Institute of Cosmological Physics at the University of Chicago, the Center for Cosmology and Astro-Particle Physics at the Ohio State University, the Mitchell Institute for Fundamental Physics and Astronomy at Texas A&M University, Financiadora de Estudos e Projetos, Fundacao Carlos Chagas Filho de Amparo a Pesquisa do Estado do Rio de Janeiro, Conselho Nacional de Desenvolvimento Cientifico e Tecnologico and the Ministerio da Ciencia e Tecnologia, the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft and the Collaborating Institutions in the Dark Energy Survey. The DES participants from Spanish institutions are partially supported by MINECO under grants AYA2012-39559, ESP2013-48274, FPA2013-47986 and Centro de Excelencia Severo Ochoa SEV-2012-0234, some of which include ERDF funds from the European Union. The Collaborating Institutions are Argonne National Laboratory, the University of California at Santa Cruz, the University of Cambridge, Centro de Investigaciones Energeticas, Medioambientales y Tecnologicas-Madrid, the University of Chicago, University College London, the DES-Brazil Consortium, the Eidgenossische Technische Hochschule (ETH) Zurich, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, the University of Edinburgh, the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, the Institut de Ciencies de l'Espai (IEEC/CSIC), the Institut de Fisica d'Altes Energies, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, the Ludwig- Maximilians Universitat and the associated Excellence Cluster Universe, the University of Michigan, the National Optical Astronomy Observatory, the University of Nottingham, The Ohio State University, the University of Pennsylvania, the University of Portsmouth, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, Stanford University, the University of Sussex and Texas A&M University.