Journal article

Toward a skin-material interface with vacuum-integrated capped macroporous scaffolds

Gil D Stynes, George K Kiroff, Wayne A Morrison, Richard S Page, Mark A Kirkland

Journal of Biomedical Materials Research Part B: Applied Biomaterials | WILEY | Published : 2017


Funding Acknowledgements

We thank AorTech for supply of Elast-Eon (TM) copolymer, Paul Pasic, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) Australia, for help with vacuum plasma equipment, the Institute for Frontier Materials, Dr. Thomas Gengenbach, CSIRO, for help with X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy, Dr. Tim Hughes, Dr. Meg Evans, and Dr. Veronica Glattauer, CSIRO, for help with functionalization and protein data analysis, Deakin University, Australia, for access to laboratories for initial vacuum plasma reactor work, KCI Medical Australia for providing V.A.C. ATS (R) Therapy Units and V.A.C. (R) Dressings for this study, Professor Michael Morykwas and KCI Medical U.S.A. for advice regarding negative pressure dressings, pig dressings, and protective shells, Ben McMurtrie (B.App.Sci. (Prosthetics and Orthotics) and Rob Maloney (Orthotic Technician) from Geelong Orthotics, Geelong, Australia, for help with the design and construction of protective shells, Dr. Cynthia Wong and Ms. Melinda Tursky, Barwon Biomedical Research, The Geelong Hospital, Victoria, Australia, for assistance with ELISA, Professor Bill Walsh and Dr. Matt Pelletier, Prince of Wales Hospital, Sydney, for diamond saw and histological preparation of explants, Dr. Cui'e Wen, Institute for Frontier Materials, Deakin University, Australia, for providing early samples of polished and cut tantalum, CFJ Metal Polishers, Australia, for ultrapolishing tantalum, University of Melbourne Veterinary School Staff, Werribee, Australia. The Chief Veterinarian, Professor Glenn Edwards, the Trial Coordinators, Gail Squires and Dr. Josephine Holmes, the veterinarians, Dr. Christian Alvarez, Dr. Edie Bishop, Dr. Elise Boller, Dr. Manuel Boller, Dr. Anne-Claire Duchaussoy, the technical support staff, Ian Freeman, Fiona Godfrey, Doug Kerton, Melissa Knight, Jennine Redden, Dianne Rees, Elizabeth Rowley, and Administrative Support from Carol Bradley. We thank Stephen Lane, Statistician, Barwon Health, Geelong, Australia, Rachel Sore, Statistician, The University of Melbourne, Alyssa Grabb, patent lawyer from Phillips Ormonde Fitzpatrick Law Firm, Melbourne, Australia, for with the patent relating to this research, and Mariko Francis and Peter Rogan for illustration work. This research was made possible by financial support from the Australian Commonwealth Government's Advanced Manufacturing Cooperative Research Centre (AMCRC) Cytomatrix Pty Ltd, the Victorian Centre for Advanced Materials Manufacturing (VCAMM) and OzLobsters Pty Ltd.