Journal article

Measurement of the decay B -> Dl nu(l) in fully reconstructed events and determination of the Cabibbo-Kobayashi-Maskawa matrix element vertical bar V-cb vertical bar

R Glattauer, C Schwanda, A Abdesselam, I Adachi, K Adamczyk, H Aihara, S Al Said, DM Asner, T Aushev, R Ayad, T Aziz, I Badhrees, AM Bakich, V Bansal, E Barberio, B Bhuyan, J Biswal, G Bonvicini, A Bozek, M Bracko Show all



We present a determination of the magnitude of the Cabibbo-Kobayashi-Maskawa matrix element |Vcb| using the decay B→Dℓνℓ (ℓ=e,μ) based on 711 fb-1 of e+e-→ (4S) data recorded by the Belle detector and containing 772×106 BB¯ pairs. One B meson in the event is fully reconstructed in a hadronic decay mode, while the other, on the signal side, is partially reconstructed from a charged lepton and either a D+ or D0 meson in a total of 23 hadronic decay modes. The isospin-averaged branching fraction of the decay B→Dℓνℓ is found to be B(B0→D-ℓ+νℓ)=(2.31±0.03(stat)±0.11(syst))%. Analyzing the differential decay rate as a function of the hadronic recoil with the parametrization of Caprini, Lellouch, a..

View full abstract


Awarded by Austrian Science Fund

Awarded by National Natural Science Foundation of China

Awarded by Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports of the Czech Republic

Awarded by WCU program of the Ministry of Education, National Research Foundation (NRF) of Korea

Awarded by Basic Research Lab program under NRF

Awarded by Center for Korean J-PARC Users

Awarded by Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea (UPV/EHU) (Spain)

Funding Acknowledgements

We acknowledge useful discussions with Carleton DeTar, Daping Du, Andreas S. Kronfeld, and Ruth Van de Water from the FNAL/MILC Collaboration; with Heechang Na and Junko Shigemitsu from HPQCD; as well as with Paolo Gambino and Florian Bernlochner, and we acknowledge the support of the Mainz Institute for Theoretical Physics. We further thank the KEKB group for the excellent operation of the accelerator; the KEK cryogenics group for the efficient operation of the solenoid; and the KEK computer group, the National Institute of Informatics, and the PNNL/EMSL computing group for valuable computing and SINET4 network support. We acknowledge support from the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science, and Technology (MEXT) of Japan, the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS), and the Tau-Lepton Physics Research Center of Nagoya University; the Australian Research Council; Austrian Science Fund under Grants No. P 22742-N16 and No. P 26794-N20; the National Natural Science Foundation of China under Contracts No. 10575109, No. 10775142, No. 10875115, No. 11175187, and No. 11475187; the Chinese Academy of Science Center for Excellence in Particle Physics; the Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports of the Czech Republic under Contract No. LG14034; the Carl Zeiss Foundation, the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, and the VolkswagenStiftung; the Department of Science and Technology of India; the Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare of Italy; the WCU program of the Ministry of Education, National Research Foundation (NRF) of Korea Grants No. 2011-0029457, No. 2012-0008143, No. 2012R1A1A2008330, No. 2013R1A1A3007772, No. 2014R1A2A2A01005286, No. 2014R1A2A2A01002734, No. 2015R1A2A2A01003280, and No. 2015H1A2A1033649; the Basic Research Lab program under NRF Grant No. KRF-2011-0020333 and Center for Korean J-PARC Users, Grant No. NRF-2013K1A3A7A06056592; the Brain Korea 21-Plus program and Radiation Science Research Institute; the Polish Ministry of Science and Higher Education and the National Science Center; the Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation and the Russian Foundation for Basic Research; the Slovenian Research Agency; Ikerbasque, Basque Foundation for Science and the Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea (UPV/EHU) under Program No. UFI 11/55 (Spain); the Swiss National Science Foundation; the National Science Council and the Ministry of Education of Taiwan; and the U.S. Department of Energy and the National Science Foundation. This work is supported by a Grant-in-Aid from MEXT for Science Research in a Priority Area ("New Development of Flavor Physics") and from JSPS for Creative Scientific Research ("Evolution of Tau-Lepton Physics").