Journal article

Arc-parallel extrusion of the Timor sector of the Banda arc-continent collision

Brendan Duffy, Mark Quigley, Ron Harris, Uwe Ring



Structural studies of synorogenic basins in Timor using field and remote sensing techniques provide new structural and geomorphic evidence for syn-collisional extension in the converging plate boundary zone between the Australian Plate and Banda Arc. Fault mapping and kinematic analysis at scales ranging from outcrop (<1 m2) to the dimensions of the active orogen in East Timor (~100 km2) identify a predominance of NW-SE oriented dextral-normal faults and NE-SW oriented sinistral-normal faults that collectively bound large (5-20 km2) bedrock massifs throughout the island. These fault systems intersect at non-Andersonian conjugate angles of approximately 120° and accommodate an estimated 20 km..

View full abstract


Awarded by Royal Society of New Zealand Marsden Research Council

Funding Acknowledgements

Helpful reviews and editorial comments from Mike Taylor, Lothar Ratschbacher, and an anonymous reviewer greatly improved this manuscript. Bedding and fault kinematic data were plotted using StereoWin and FaultKinWin software by Rick Allmendinger. This work was supported by a Royal Society of New Zealand Marsden Research Council grant to Quigley (Fast-start grant M1137), a Tertiary Education Commission Top Achiever scholarship to Duffy, and U.S. National Science Foundation grants to Harris. We thank Norberta da Costa and her staff in the Secretariat for Energy and Natural Resources (SERN) in Dili for their continuing support for our research in Timor Leste. Jhony Suares, Lamberto Fernandes, Jhony Rheis, Andy Monteiro, Atino Varela, Lourenco Pedro, Cecilia, and Nabe all provided valuable field assistance and local knowledge. We thank the local administrators and community leaders for their hospitality and access to field areas. We thank Aaron Benincasa for his friendship and logistic support. We enjoyed discussions in the field with James Shulmeister, Mike Sandiford, Douwe Van Hinsbergen, Louise Moody, Richard Bakker, David Haig, and Myra Keep.