Journal article

Differences in PfEMP1s recognized by antibodies from patients with uncomplicated or severe malaria

Michael F Duffy, Rintis Noviyanti, Takafumi Tsuboi, Zhi-Ping Feng, Leily Trianty, Boni F Sebayang, Eizo Takashima, Fransisca Sumardy, Daniel A Lampah, Louise Turner, Thomas Lavstsen, Freya JI Fowkes, Peter Siba, Stephen J Rogerson, Thor G Theander, Jutta Marfurt, Ric N Price, Nicholas M Anstey, Graham V Brown, Anthony T Papenfuss



Awarded by National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia

Awarded by Career Development Fellowship

Awarded by Practitioner Fellowship

Awarded by Wellcome Trust

Awarded by Lundbeck Foundation

Funding Acknowledgements

We would like to thank all patients and their families from Papua Province, Indonesia, and Papua New Guinea for participating in the study. We acknowledge Laurens Manning for help in collecting patient samples. This work was supported by National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia [Grant 1007954, Grant 513782, Career Development Fellowship to ATP (1003856) and Practitioner Fellowship to NMA (1042072). The Timika Research Facility and Papuan Community Health Foundation were supported by AusAID (Australian Agency for International Development, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade) and the National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia (Program Grant 1037304 awarded to RNP and NMA) and the Wellcome Trust (Senior Fellowship in Clinical Science 091625 awarded to RNP). The work benefitted from support by the Victorian State Government Operational Infrastructure Support and Australian Government NHMRC IRIISS.