Journal article

Priorities for management of chytridiomycosis in Australia: saving frogs from extinction

Lee F Skerratt, Lee Berger, Nick Clemann, Dave A Hunter, Gerry Marantelli, David A Newell, Annie Philips, Michael McFadden, Harry B Hines, Ben C Scheele, Laura A Brannelly, Rick Speare, Stephanie Versteegen, Scott D Cashins, Matt West



To protect Australian amphibian biodiversity, we have identified and prioritised frog species at an imminent risk of extinction from chytridiomycosis, and devised national management and research priorities for disease mitigation. Six Australian frogs have not been observed in the wild since the initial emergence of chytridiomycosis and may be extinct. Seven extant frog species were assessed as needing urgent conservation interventions because of (1) their small populations and/or ongoing declines throughout their ranges (southern corroboree frog (Pseudophryne corroboree, New South Wales), northern corroboree frog (Pseudophryne pengilleyi, Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales), Baw ..

View full abstract


Awarded by Australian Research Council

Funding Acknowledgements

We acknowledge the generous contribution to Australian frog conservation by many institutes including Taronga Conservation Society Australia, Amphibian Research Centre, the Queensland National Parks and Wildlife Service, New South Wales Office of Environment and Heritage, the Tasmanian Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment, Australian Capital Territory Government, Tidbinbilla Nature Reserve, Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary, Wildlife Health Australia, Australian Registry of Wildlife Health, Zoos Victoria (Melbourne Zoo and Healesville Sanctuary), Australian Government Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry, Australian Research Council and Australian Government Department of the Environment. For the workshop, we thank Emma Homes and Stanley Isaiah for logistical support and Shirley Doldissen for donating meals. Preparation of this review was supported by Australian Research Council grants FT100100375, DP120100811 and LP110200240.