Journal article

Atmospheric abundance and global emissions of perfluorocarbons CF4, C2F6 and C3F8 since 1800 inferred from ice core, firn, air archive and in situ measurements

Cathy M Trudinger, Paul J Fraser, David M Etheridge, William T Sturges, Martin K Vollmer, Matt Rigby, Patricia Martinerie, Jens Muhle, David R Worton, Paul B Krummel, L Paul Steele, Benjamin R Miller, Johannes Laube, Francis S Mani, Peter J Rayner, Christina M Harth, Emmanuel Witrant, Thomas Blunier, Jakob Schwander, Simon O'Doherty Show all

Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics | COPERNICUS GESELLSCHAFT MBH | Published : 2016

University of Melbourne Researchers


Awarded by CEC programme (CRYOSTAT)

Awarded by National Aeronautic and Space Administration (NASA)

Awarded by Department of Energy and Climate Change (DECC, UK)

Awarded by UK Natural Environment Research Council (NERC)

Awarded by NERC

Awarded by Natural Environment Research Council

Funding Acknowledgements

This work has been undertaken as part of the Australian Climate Change Science Program, funded jointly by the Department of the Environment, the Bureau of Meteorology and CSIRO. We acknowledge support from the Australian Antarctic Science Program. This work is a contribution to the European Project for Ice Coring in Antarctica (EPICA), a joint European Science Foundation/European Commission scientific programme, funded by the European Union (EPICA-MIS) and by national contributions from Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. This work was also funded by the CEC programme (EUK2-CT2001-00116, CRYOSTAT). NEEM is directed and organised by the Center of Ice and Climate at the Niels Bohr Institute and US NSF, Office of Polar Programs, and is supported by funding agencies and institutions in Belgium (FNRS-CFB and FWO), Canada (NRCan/GSC), China (CAS), Denmark (FIST), France (IPEV, CNRS/INSU, CEA and ANR), Germany (AWI), Iceland (RannIs), Japan (NIPR), Korea (KOPRI), the Netherlands (NWO/ALW), Sweden (VR), Switzerland (SNF), United Kingdom (NERC) and the USA (US NSF, Office of Polar Programs). We acknowledge the support of the CSIRO GASLAB team. The operation of the AGAGE instruments at Mace Head and Cape Grim is supported by the National Aeronautic and Space Administration (NASA) (grants NAG5-12669 and NNX07AE89G to MIT; grants NNX07AF09G and NNX07AE87G to SIO), the Department of Energy and Climate Change (DECC, UK) contract GA01081 to the University of Bristol, CSIRO and Bureau of Meteorology (Australia). William Sturges recognises the CSIRO Frohlich Fellowship for supporting a visit to CSIRO Aspendale. Martin Vollmer acknowledges a CSIRO Office of the Chief Executive Distinguished Visiting Scientist grant to CSIRO Aspendale for firn air measurements. Matthew Rigby is supported by an advanced research fellowship (NE/I021365/1) from the UK Natural Environment Research Council (NERC). Francis Mani was supported by a Marie Curie Fellowships in Antarctic Air-Sea-Ice Science award, David Worton by a NERC Studentship, and Johannes Laube by a NERC Fellowship (NE/I021918/1). We thank Cecelia MacFarling-Meure for ice extraction, Jean-Marc Barnola, Andrew Smith, Tasvan Ommen, Dominic Ferretti and Mark Curran for helping to collect the Law Dome firn and ice samples and Pep Canadell and Roger Francey for helpful comments on the manuscript.