Journal article

Graft Transit Time Has No Effect on Outcome of Unrelated Donor Hematopoietic Cell Transplants Performed in Australia and New Zealand: A Study from the Australasian Bone Marrow Transplant Recipient Registry

William Nigel Patton, Ian Nivison-Smith, Peter Bardy, Anthony Dodds, David Ma, Peter John Shaw, John Kwan, Leonie Wilcox, Andrew Butler, John M Carter, Hilary Blacklock, Jeffrey Szer

Biology of Blood and Marrow Transplantation | ELSEVIER SCIENCE INC | Published : 2017


A previous study found that platelet recovery and mortality were worse in recipients of myeloablative bone marrow transplants where graft transit times were longer than 20 hours. This retrospective study of unrelated myeloablative allogeneic transplantation performed within Australia and New Zealand analyzed transplant outcomes according to graft transit times. Of 233 assessable cases, 76 grafts (33%) were sourced from bone marrow (BM) and 157 (67%) from peripheral blood. Grafts sourced from Australia and New Zealand (47% of total) were associated with a median transit time of 6 hours versus 32 hours for overseas sourced grafts (53% of total). Graft transit temperature was refrigerated in 85..

View full abstract


Funding Acknowledgements

The authors sincerely thank Leonie Wilcox, Donna Aarons, and Steven Tran for their dedication and expertise in maintaining the ABMTRR database. The ABMTRR is grateful to the BMT Network NSW, The Arrow Bone Marrow Transplant Foundation, St. Vincent's Hospital Darlinghurst, the Australian Bone Marrow Donor Registry, and the Australian Government for their support. The authors thank Henry Watson, a summer student, for helping to collect New Zealand data and Leukaemia and Blood Cancer New Zealand for provision of his summer studentship grant. The authors also thank the following clinicians, scientists, and data managers for participating in this study: Alfred Hospital, Prahran: A/Prof. Andrew Spencer, Ms. Jenny Muirhead, Ms. Geraldine Bollard: The Children's Hospital at Westmead, Westmead: Ms. Gillian Huang: Auckland City Hospital, Auckland, Ms. Karen Nolan: Christchurch Hospital, Christchurch, Ms. Jenny Roberts: Starship Hospital, Auckland, Dr. Lochie Teague, Ms. Sarah Hunter: Wellington Hospital, Wellington, Ms. Catherine Wood: Princess Margaret Hospital, Perth, Prof. Cathy Cole, Ms. Hazel Gough: Royal Adelaide Hospital, Adelaide, Dr. Ian Lewis, Ms. Che To, Ms. Pam Dyson: Lady Cilento Children's Hospital, Brisbane, Dr. Chris Fraser, Mr. Matthew Ivers, Dr. Cheryl Hutchins: Royal Children's Hospital, Parkville, Dr. Francoise Mechinaud, Ms. Shannon Matthews, Mr. Michael Swain: Royal Melbourne Hospital, Parkville, Ms. Kate Mason, Dr. Elizabeth O'Flaherty: Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Camperdown, A/Prof. John Gibson, Ms. Anne-Maree Johnston, Ms. Louise Kerr: Fiona Stanley Hospital, Perth, Dr. Paul Cannell, Ms. Susan Buffery, Dr. Marian Sturm: Sydney Children's Hospital, Randwick, Dr. Tracey O'Brien, Ms. Cecilia Oswald, Ms. Emma Song: St. Vincent's Hospital, Darlinghurst, Mr. Jeff Tan, Dr. Helen Tao: Westmead Hospital, Westmead, Ms. Vicki Antonenas.