Conference Proceedings

Final commissioning results from the injection system for the Australian synchrotron project

SV Weber, H Bach, F Bødker, N Hauge, J Kristensen, L Kruse, S Madsen, SP Møller, N Hertel, JS Nielsen, MJ Boland, R Dowd, GS LeBlanc, MJ Spencer, YE Tan

Proceedings of the IEEE Particle Accelerator Conference | Published : 2007


Danfysik has delivered a full-energy turn-key injection system for the Australian Synchrotron. The system consists of a 100 MeV linac, a low-energy transfer beamline, a 130 m circumference 3-GeV booster, and a high energy transfer beamline. The booster lattice was designed to have many cells with combined-function magnets (dipole, quadrupole and sextupole fields) in order to reach a very small emittance. The injection system has been commissioned and shown to deliver a beam with an emittance of less than 30 nm, and currents in single- and multi-bunch mode in excess of 0.5 and 5 mA, respectively, fulfilling the performance specifications. The repetition frequency is 1 Hz. Results from the com..

View full abstract

University of Melbourne Researchers

Citation metrics