Journal article

Operational classification of seizure types by the International League Against Epilepsy: Position Paper of the ILAE Commission for Classification and Terminology

Robert S Fisher, J Helen Cross, Jacqueline A French, Norimichi Higurashi, Edouard Hirsch, Floor E Jansen, Lieven Lagae, Solomon L Moshe, Jukka Peltola, Eliane Roulet Perez, Ingrid E Scheffer, Sameer M Zuberi

Epilepsia | WILEY | Published : 2017

University of Melbourne Researchers


Awarded by National Institutes of Health (NIH)


Awarded by National Institute for Health Research

Funding Acknowledgements

Funding for this study was provided by the International League Against Epilepsy. The lead author (RSF) was supported by the Maslah Saul MD Chair, the James & Carrie Anderson Fund for Epilepsy, the Susan Horngren Fund, and the Steve Chen Research Fund. Dr. Moshe was supported by grant 1U54NS100064. SLM is supported by Charles Frost Chair in Neurosurgery and Neurology, grants from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) NS43209, Citizens United, the U.S. Department of Defense for Research in Epilepsy (CURE), the Heffer Family and the Segal Family Foundations and the Abbe Goldstein/Joshua Lurie and Laurie Marsh/ Dan Levitz families. Special thanks are given to the Revision Task Force appointed to revise the classification after receipt of public comments. Members of this Revision Task Force do not necessarily concur with all details of the classification or the publication, since opinions were not always concordant. These Task Force members were the following: Carol D'Souza, Sheryl Haut, Ernest Somerville, Michael Sperling, Andreas Schulze-Bonhage, and Elza Marcia Yacubian. Additional key comments were received from Soheyl Noachtar, Kimford Meador, and Kevin Graber.