Journal article

Australian and New Zealand Pulmonary Rehabilitation Guidelines

Jennifer A Alison, Zoe J McKeough, Kylie Johnston, Renae J McNamara, Lissa M Spencer, Sue C Jenkins, Catherine J Hill, Vanessa M McDonald, Peter Frith, Paul Cafarella, Michelle Brooke, Helen L Cameron-Tucker, Sarah Candy, Nola Cecins, Andrew SL Chan, Marita T Dale, Leona M Dowman, Catherine Granger, Simon Halloran, Peter Jung Show all

RESPIROLOGY | WILEY | Published : 2017


BACKGROUND AND OBJECTIVE: The aim of the Pulmonary Rehabilitation Guidelines (Guidelines) is to provide evidence-based recommendations for the practice of pulmonary rehabilitation (PR) specific to Australian and New Zealand healthcare contexts. METHODS: The Guideline methodology adhered to the Appraisal of Guidelines for Research and Evaluation (AGREE) II criteria. Nine key questions were constructed in accordance with the PICO (Population, Intervention, Comparator, Outcome) format and reviewed by a COPD consumer group for appropriateness. Systematic reviews were undertaken for each question and recommendations made with the strength of each recommendation based on the GRADE (Gradings of Rec..

View full abstract

University of Melbourne Researchers


Funding Acknowledgements

The Guideline panel would like to acknowledge the following: Lung Foundation Australia, particularly Kirsten Phillips (Director, COPD National Program), Juliet Brown (Executive Officer), Heather Allan (Chief Executive Officer) and Elizabeth Harper (previous Director, COPD National Program) for supporting the work of the Guideline panel by organizing meetings, funding transport and venues for face-to-face meetings, funding teleconferences and managing referencing; Danielle Favios for formatting documents; the librarians from the University of Sydney (particularly Elaine Tam) and La Trobe University for their assistance with the searches for the systematic reviews that were carried out for the Guidelines. The Guideline panel would like to acknowledge the valuable contributions of: the Expert Review Panel of Professor Christine Jenkins, Professor Christine McDonald, Professor Ian Yang and Dr Kerry Hancock; and the contribution of Dr William Levack regarding the New Zealand context; the New Zealand Cardiothoracic Physiotherapy Special Interest Group; and the Australian COPD and Patient Advocate Group.