Journal article

Influenza-associated Encephalitis/Encephalopathy Identified by the Australian Childhood Encephalitis Study 2013-2015

Philip N Britton, Russell C Dale, Christopher C Blyth, Kristine Macartney, Nigel W Crawford, Helen Marshall, Julia E Clark, Elizabeth J Elliott, Richard I Webster, Allen C Cheng, Robert Booy, Cheryl A Jones

The Pediatric Infectious Disease Journal | LIPPINCOTT WILLIAMS & WILKINS | Published : 2017


Awarded by NHMRC

Funding Acknowledgements

The authors thank the Paediatric Active Enhanced Disease Surveillance (PAEDS) nurses: Jocelynne McRae, Jenny Murphy, Laura Rost, Sharon Tan, Helen Knight Kathryn Meredith, Natalie McLaren, Nicole Dinsmore, Gemma Saravanos, Alissa McMinn, Donna Armstrong, Christine Heath, Caroline Finucane, Jacqueline Connell, Christine Robins, and Sonia Dougherty. The authors thank the other PAEDS investigators: Assistant Professor Nicholas Wood and Professor Peter McIntyre at CHW; Professor Jim Buttery at Royal Children's Hospital, Melbourne; Dr. Anne Kynaston at Lady Cilento Children's Hospital, Brisbane; Assistant Professor Jim Gold at Women's and Children's Hospital, Adelaide; Assistant Professor Peter Richmond at Princess Margaret Hospital, Perth. The authors thank the other ACE study investigator: Professor Alison Kesson. The authors also acknowledge the clinicians who were involved in the care of these children during their illness. This study was supported by NHMRC postgraduate scholarship (1074547), the Royal Australasian College of Physicians (RACP) NHMRC Award for Excellence, and Norah Therese Hayes-Ratcliffe/Sydney Medical School Dean's paediatric infectious diseases fellowship to P.B. NHMRC Career Development Awards to CB (1111596), AC (1068732), and HM (1084951). NHMRC CRE in critical infections Grant (1001021) to C.J., R.B. NHMRC CRE in emerging infectious diseases (1102962) to C.J., A.C. NHMRC Practitioner Fellowship (457084) to E.E. PAEDS is funded by an NHMRC Partnership Grant (1113851) and the Australian Government Department of Health and State Health Departments.