Journal article

Rock-magnetic signature of precipitation and extreme runoff events in south-eastern Patagonia since 51,200 cal BP from the sediments of Laguna Potrok Aike

A Lise-Pronovost, G St-Onge, C Gogorza, G Jouve, R Francus, B Zolitschka

Quaternary Science Reviews | PERGAMON-ELSEVIER SCIENCE LTD | Published : 2014

University of Melbourne Researchers


Funding Acknowledgements

We thank J. Labrie, F. Barletta, M.-P. St-Onge, A. Leclerc and D. Veres for their help in the laboratory at ISMER, J.J. Scagliotti and C. Ohlendorf for cube sampling at the University of Bremen, and M. Jackson for his help with anisotropy measurements at the Institute of Rock Magnetism of the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis. We thank Q Simon, S. Brachfeld, A. Chauvin and an anonymous reviewer for comments on an earlier version of this manuscript. This research is supported by the International Continental Scientific Drilling Program (ICDP) in the framework of the "Potrok Aike Maar Lake Sediment Archive Drilling Project" (PASADO). Funding for drilling was provided by the ICDP, the German Science Foundation (DFG), the Swiss National Funds (SNF), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), the Swedish Vetenskapsradet (VR) and the University of Bremen. For their invaluable help in field logistics and drilling, we thank the staff of INTA Santa Cruz and Rio Dulce Catering as well as the Moreteau family and the DOSECC crew. This research was made possible through NSERC Special Research Opportunity and Discovery grants to P. Francus and G. St-Onge. We also acknowledge the Canadian Foundation for Innovation (CFI) for the acquisition and operation of the u-channel cryogenic magnetometer. C. Gogorza thanks the Comision Nacional de Investigaciones Cientificas y Tecnicas de la Republica Argentina (CONICET) and the Universidad Nacional del Centro de la Provincia de Buenos Aires (UNCPBA). Finally, we acknowledge the support of NSERC and the Canadian Meteorological and Oceanographical Society (CMOS) for graduate scholarships to A. Lise-Pronovost.