Journal article

Time for a new obesity narrative

Johanna Ralston, Hannah Brinsden, Kent Buse, Vanessa Candeias, Ian Caterson, Trevor Hassell, Shiriki Kumanyika, Patricia Nece, Sania Nishtar, Ian Patton, Joseph Proietto, Ximena Ramos Salas, Srinath Reddy, Donna Ryan, Arya M Sharma, Boyd Swinburn, John Wilding, Euan Woodward


University of Melbourne Researchers


Funding Acknowledgements

The views expressed in this Comment are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect those of the organisations with which they are affiliated. JR and HB report unrestricted grants from Novo Nordisk to World Obesity Federation. IC has received grants, honorarium for chairing clinical trial steering committee, and speaker fees from Novo Nordisk; grants from SFI, BMS, Zafgen, and Australian Eggs; and speaker fees from Servier Laboratories (Aust) and Ache Pharmaceuticals. PN has received personal fees from Novo Nordisk. IP has received speaker fees from Valeant Canada and fees for advisory board membership from Novartis and for disease experience expert panel membership from Novo Nordisk. JP has received fees for advisory board membership and for lectures from Novo Nordisk. DR has received personal fees from Novo Nordisk, Amgen, Eisai, Real Appeal, Orexigen, Sanofi, Janssen, Takeda, Pfizer, Baro Nova (Data Safety Monitoring Board), Gila Therapeutics, Scientific Intake, and Epitomee, and she has equity in the latter three-Gila Therapeutics (clinical stage biotherapeutic company focused on pharmacological treatment of obesity), Scientific Intake (develops and commercialises medical devices for obesity), and Epitomee (a private company developing and commercialising capsule device for weight loss). JW has received grants, consultancy, and/or speaker fees via his institution from AstraZeneca, Novo Nordisk, and Takeda; speaker fees and/or consultancy fees via his institution from Boehringer Ingelheim, Janssen, Lilly, Napp, Orexigen, Sanofi, and Wilmington Healthcare; and personal speaker fees from AstraZeneca, Biologix, Boehringer Ingelheim, Janssen, Napp, Novo Nordisk, and Sanofi. KB, VC, TH, SK, SN, XRS, SR, AMS, BS, and EW declare no competing interests.