Journal article

Ovarian cancer risk factors by tumor aggressiveness: An analysis from the Ovarian Cancer Cohort Consortium

Renee T Fortner, Elizabeth M Poole, Nicolas A Wentzensen, Britton Trabert, Emily White, Alan A Arslan, Alpa Patel, V Wendy Setiawan, Kala Visvanathan, Elisabete Weiderpass, Hans-Olov Adami, Amanda Black, Leslie Bernstein, Louise A Brinton, Julie Buring, Tess Clendenen, Agnes Fournier, Gary Fraser, Susan M Gapstur, Mia M Gaudet Show all



Ovarian cancer risk factors differ by histotype; however, within subtype, there is substantial variability in outcomes. We hypothesized that risk factor profiles may influence tumor aggressiveness, defined by time between diagnosis and death, independent of histology. Among 1.3 million women from 21 prospective cohorts, 4,584 invasive epithelial ovarian cancers were identified and classified as highly aggressive (death in <1 year, n = 864), very aggressive (death in 1 to < 3 years, n = 1,390), moderately aggressive (death in 3 to < 5 years, n = 639), and less aggressive (lived 5+ years, n = 1,691). Using competing risks Cox proportional hazards regression, we assessed heterogeneity of associ..

View full abstract


Awarded by Australian National Health and Medical Research Council

Awarded by Cancer Research UK

Awarded by Department of Defense Ovarian Cancer Research Program

Awarded by Health Research Fund (FIS)


Awarded by Medical Research Council

Awarded by National Cancer Institute

Awarded by Office of Dietary Supplements

Awarded by National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI)

Awarded by National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)



Awarded by National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities

Funding Acknowledgements

Grant sponsor: Associazione Italiana per la Ricerca sul Cancro-AIRC-Italy; Grant sponsor: Australian National Health and Medical Research Council; Grant numbers: 209057, 396414; Grant sponsor: Cancer Council Victoria; Grant sponsor: Cancer Research UK; Grant numbers: 14136, C570/A16491, C8221/A19170; Grant sponsor: County Councils of Skane and Vasterbotten (Sweden); Grant sponsor: Danish Cancer Society; Grant sponsor: Department of Defense Ovarian Cancer Research Program; Grant numbers: W81XWH-12-1-0561; Grant sponsor: Deutsche Krebshilfe; Grant sponsor: Dutch Ministry of Public Health, Welfare and Sports (VWS); Grant sponsor: Dutch Prevention Funds; Grant sponsor: Dutch ZON (Zorg Onderzoek Nederland); Grant sponsor: European Commission (DG-SANCO); Grant sponsor: Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF); Grant sponsor: German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ); Grant sponsor: Health Research Fund (FIS); Grant numbers: PI13/00061, PI13/01162; Grant sponsor: Hellenic Health Foundation; Grant sponsor: Institut Gustave Roussy; Grant sponsor: Institut National de la Sante et de la Recherche Medicale (INSERM); Grant sponsor: International Agency for Research on Cancer; Grant sponsor: Intramural Research Program of the American Cancer Society; Grant sponsor: Intramural Research Program of the National Institutes of Health, and National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences; Grant sponsor: ISCIII RETIC; Grant numbers: RD06/0020; Grant sponsor: Ligue Contre le Cancer; Grant sponsor: Medical Research Council; Grant numbers: 1000143, MR/M012190/1; Grant sponsor: Mutuelle Generale de l'Education Nationale; Grant sponsor: National Cancer Institute; Grant numbers: CA047988, CA164973, P01 CA87969, P30 CA016087, R01 CA39742, R01 CA67262, R01CA77398, UM1 CA164917, UM1 CA176726, UM1 CA182876, UM1 CA182934, UM1 CA186107; Grant sponsor: National Cancer Institute (NCI) and Office of Dietary Supplements; Grant numbers: K05 CA154337; Grant sponsor: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI); Grant numbers: HL043851, HL080467, HL099355; Grant sponsor: National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS); Grant numbers: P30 ES000260; Grant sponsor: National Research Council (Italy); Grant sponsor: NCI Intramural Research Program; Grant sponsor: Netherlands Cancer Registry (NKR), LK Research Funds; Grant sponsor: NordForsk; Grant sponsor: Regional Governments of Andalucia, Asturias, Basque Country, Murcia and Navarra; Grant sponsor: Statistics Netherlands; Grant sponsor: Swedish Cancer Society; Grant sponsor: Swedish Research Council; Grant sponsor: VicHealth; Grant sponsor: World Cancer Research Fund (WCRF)