Book Chapter

The Federal Principle

Brian Crommelin

The Oxford Handbook of The Australian Constitution | Oxford University Press | Published : 2018


The Commonwealth of Australia Constitution Act 1900 (UK) provided for the people of the six Australian colonies to be united in ‘a Federal Commonwealth under the name of the Commonwealth of Australia’, a self-governing polity within the British Empire. The existing colonies, already self-governing polities within the Empire, became the ‘Original States’ in the federation.

University of Melbourne Researchers