Journal article

Immunogenicity and Safety of a Quadrivalent Meningococcal ACWY-tetanus Toxoid Conjugate Vaccine 6 Years After MenC Priming as Toddlers

Terry Nolan, Robert Booy, Helen S Marshall, Peter Richmond, Michael Nissen, John B Ziegler, Yaela Baine, Magali Traskine, Archana Jastorff, Marie Van der Wielen



BACKGROUND: We assessed immunogenicity, antibody persistence and safety of the meningococcal serogroups A, C, W and Y-tetanus toxoid (TT) conjugate vaccine (MenACWY-TT) in children primed as toddlers with MenC vaccine. METHODS: This open, multicenter extension study enrolled children 84-95 months of age who had received one dose of the combined Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib)-MenC-TT conjugate vaccine (HibMenC group) or Hib-TT and monovalent MenC (MCC)-CRM197 vaccines (Hib+MCC group) at 12-18 months of age, in the primary study. All participants received one dose of MenACWY-TT. We assessed immunogenicity against MenA, MenC, MenW and MenY at 1 month and 2 years postvaccination by serum ba..

View full abstract

University of Melbourne Researchers


Awarded by National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia

Funding Acknowledgements

The authors thank Marita Kefford, Janet Briggs, Clare Brophy, Lana Horng, Annmarie McEvoy, Adam Parslow, Mairead Phelan, Jane Ryrie, Judith Spotswood and Marie West from the MCRI Vaccine and Immunisation Research Group (VIRGo), and the Melbourne Health Pathology Service's clinical trials team; Susan Evans, Suja Mathew, Su-San Lee, Mary Walker, Chris Heath, Michelle Clarke from the Vaccinology and Immunology Research Trials Unit, Women's and Children's Health Network, South Australia; Tanya Stoney and Jennifer Kent from the Vaccine Trials Group, Telethon Kids Institute, Perth. The authors also thank Brigitte Cheuvart (GSK) for the statistical analysis, Timea Kiss and Maria Cornelia Maior (XPE Pharma & Science) for medical writing services, and Regis Azizieh (XPE Pharma & Science C/O GSK) for publication management. Prof. Helen Marshall acknowledges support from the National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia: Career Development Fellowship (1084951).