Journal article

Consensus for experimental design in electromyography (CEDE) project: Electrode selection matrix

Manuela Besomi, Paul W Hodges, Jaap Van Dieen, Richard G Carson, Edward A Clancy, Catherine Disselhorst-Klug, AleS Holobar, Francois Hug, Matthew C Kiernan, Madeleine Lowery, Kevin McGill, Roberto Merletti, Eric Perreault, Karen Sogaard, Kylie Tucker, Thor Besier, Roger Enoka, Deborah Falla, Dario Farina, Simon Gandevia Show all

Journal of Electromyography and Kinesiology | ELSEVIER SCI LTD | Published : 2019


The Consensus for Experimental Design in Electromyography (CEDE) project is an international initiative which aims to guide decision-making in recording, analysis, and interpretation of electromyographic (EMG) data. The quality of the EMG recording, and validity of its interpretation depend on many characteristics of the recording set-up and analysis procedures. Different electrode types (i.e., surface and intramuscular) will influence the recorded signal and its interpretation. This report presents a matrix to consider the best electrode type selection for recording EMG, and the process undertaken to achieve consensus. Four electrode types were considered: (1) conventional surface electrode..

View full abstract

University of Melbourne Researchers


Awarded by National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) of Australia, Australia

Awarded by NHMRC Senior Principal Research Fellowship, Australia

Awarded by NHMRC, Australia

Awarded by Slovenian Research Agency, Slovenia

Funding Acknowledgements

This research was funded by the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) of Australia (Program Grant: APP1091302), Australia. PWH is supported by an NHMRC Senior Principal Research Fellowship (APP1102905), Australia. MB is supported by the University of Queensland Research Training Scholarship, Australia. MCK was supported by a Program Grant (APP1132524), Partnership Project (APP1153439) and Practitioner Fellowship (APP1156093) from the NHMRC, Australia. AH is supported by Slovenian Research Agency (projects J2-7357 and L7-9421 and Programme funding P2-0041), Slovenia.