Journal article

First episode mania: we should have intervened earlier

Sameer Jauhar, Aswin Ratheesh, Christopher Davey, Lakshmi N Yatham, Patrick D McGorry, Phillip McGuire, Michael Berk, Allan H Young

The Lancet Psychiatry | ELSEVIER SCI LTD | Published : 2019


Funding Acknowledgements

AHY has received payment for lectures and advisory boards membership from AstraZenaca, Eli Lilly, Lundbeck, Sunovion, Servier, Livanova, and Janssen and reports no shareholdings in pharmaceutical companies. He is the lead investigator for the Embolden Study (AZ), BCI Neuroplasticity Sudy, and Aripiprazole Mania Study, and has led investigatorinitiated studies from AstraZeneca, Eli Lilly, Lundbeck, Wyeth, and Janssen. LNY has been on speaker or advisory boards for, or has received research grants from, Allergan, Alkermes, AstraZeneca, Bristol Myers Squibb, Canadian Network for Mood and Anxiety Treatment, Canadian Institute of Health Research, Dainippon Sumitomo, Eli Lilly, Forest, GlaxoSmithKline, Janssen, Lundbeck, Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research, Otsuka, Pfizer, Servier, Sunovion, and the Stanley Foundation. MB reports grants from the National Health and Medical Research Council Senior Principal Research Fellowship, Stanley Medical Research Foundation, Medical Benefits Fund, Cooperative Research Centre, Simons Autism Foundation, Cancer Council of Victoria, Rotary Health, Meat and Livestock Board, Woolworths, BeyondBlue, Geelong Medical Research Foundation, Bristol Myers Squibb, Organon, Novartis, and Mayne Pharma, grants and personal fees from Eli Lilly, and GlaxoSmithKline, and personal fees from AstraZeneca, Servier, Lundbeck, Pfizer, Sanofi Synthelabo, Solvay, Wyeth, Bioadvantex, Merck, and Janssen, during the conduct of the study. In addition, MB has a patent on the use of N-acetylcysteine and related compounds for psychiatric indications pending and a patent modulation of diseases of the central nervous system and related disorders pending (60/325061; 10/491061; 2014900627). PDM reports membership of a Janssen advisory board. PM reports receiving investigator-initiated research funding from or participating in advisory or speaker meetings organised by Sunovion, Janssen, GW Pharmaceuticals, Takeda, and Roche. All other authors declare no competing interests.