Journal article

Improving the Epoch of Reionization Power Spectrum Results from Murchison Widefield Array Season 1 Observations

N Barry, M Wilensky, CM Trott, B Pindor, AP Beardsley, BJ Hazelton, IS Sullivan, MF Morales, JC Pober, J Line, B Greig, R Byrne, A Lanman, W Li, CH Jordan, RC Joseph, B McKinley, M Rahimi, S Yoshiura, JD Bowman Show all



Measurements of 21 cm Epoch of Reionization (EoR) structure are subject to systematics originating from both the analysis and the observation conditions. Using 2013 data from the Murchison Widefield Array (MWA), we show the importance of mitigating both sources of contamination. A direct comparison between results from Beardsley et al. and our updated analysis demonstrates new precision techniques, lowering analysis systematics by a factor of 2.8 in power. We then further lower systematics by excising observations contaminated by ultra-faint RFI, reducing by an additional factor of 3.8 in power for the zenith pointing. With this enhanced analysis precision and newly developed RFI mitigation,..

View full abstract


Awarded by Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for All Sky Astrophysics in 3 Dimensions (ASTRO 3D)

Awarded by NSF Astronomy and Astrophysics Postdoctoral Fellowship

Awarded by ARC Future Fellowship

Awarded by National Science Foundation

Funding Acknowledgements

This research was supported by the Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for All Sky Astrophysics in 3 Dimensions (ASTRO 3D), through project number CE170100013. This work was supported by resources awarded under Astronomy Australia Limited's merit allocation scheme on the OzSTAR national facility at Swinburne University of Technology. OzSTAR is funded by Swinburne University of Technology and the National Collaborative Research Infrastructure Strategy (NCRIS). A.P.B. is supported by an NSF Astronomy and Astrophysics Postdoctoral Fellowship under #1701440. C.M.T. is supported by an ARC Future Fellowship under grant FT180100196. This work has been funded by National Science Foundation grants AST-1410484, AST-1506024, AST-1613040, AST-1613855, AST-1643011, and AST-1835421, and Amazon/SKA Astrocompute led by D. Jacobs at Arizona State. The International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research (ICRAR) is a Joint Venture of Curtin University and The University of Western Australia, funded by the Western Australian State government. This scientific work makes use of the Murchison Radio-astronomy Observatory, operated by CSIRO. We acknowledge the Wajarri Yamatji people as the traditional owners of the Observatory site. Support for the operation of the MWA is provided by the Australian Government (NCRIS), under a contract to Curtin University administered by Astronomy Australia Limited. We acknowledge the Pawsey Supercomputing Centre which is supported by the Western Australian and Australian Governments.