Journal article

Effect of Vitamin C, Hydrocortisone, and Thiamine vs Hydrocortisone Alone on Time Alive and Free of Vasopressor Support Among Patients With Septic Shock The VITAMINS Randomized Clinical Trial

Tomoko Fujii, Nora Luethi, Paul J Young, Daniel R Frei, Glenn M Eastwood, Craig J French, Adam M Deane, Yahya Shehabi, Ludhmila A Hajjar, Gisele Oliveira, Andrew A Udy, Neil Orford, Samantha J Edney, Anna L Hunt, Harriet L Judd, Laurent Bitker, Luca Cioccari, Thummaporn Naorungroj, Fumitaka Yanase, Samantha Bates Show all

JAMA | AMER MEDICAL ASSOC | Published : 2020


Importance: It is unclear whether vitamin C, hydrocortisone, and thiamine are more effective than hydrocortisone alone in expediting resolution of septic shock. Objective: To determine whether the combination of vitamin C, hydrocortisone, and thiamine, compared with hydrocortisone alone, improves the duration of time alive and free of vasopressor administration in patients with septic shock. Design, Setting, and Participants: Multicenter, open-label, randomized clinical trial conducted in 10 intensive care units in Australia, New Zealand, and Brazil that recruited 216 patients fulfilling the Sepsis-3 definition of septic shock. The first patient was enrolled on May 8, 2018, and the last on J..

View full abstract


Awarded by National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia

Funding Acknowledgements

This trial was supported by an Alfred Research Trusts Small Project Grant, the Austin Intensive Care Trust Fund, a grant from the Intensive Care Foundation, and a grant from the Institutional Development Support Program of the Unified Health System (PROADI-SUS). Dr Fujii was supported by the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science at the beginning of the trial. Dr Udy was supported by the National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia (Early Career Fellowship GNT1124532). Dr Young was supported by a Clinical Practitioner Fellowship from the Health Research Council of New Zealand. Dr Bellomo was supported by a Practitioner Fellowship from the National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia.