Journal article

Management of Patients with Advanced Prostate Cancer: Report of the Advanced Prostate Cancer Consensus Conference 2019

Silke Gillessena, Gerhardt Attard, Tomasz M Beer, Himisha Beltran, Anders Bjartell, Alberto Bossi, Alberto Briganti, Rob G Bristow, Kim N Chi, Noel Clarke, Ian D Davis, Johann de Bono, Charles G Drake, Ignacio Duran, Ros Eeles, Eleni Efstathiou, Christopher P Evans, Stefano Fanti, Felix Y Feng, Karim Fizazi Show all

European Urology | ELSEVIER | Published : 2020


BACKGROUND: Innovations in treatments, imaging, and molecular characterisation in advanced prostate cancer have improved outcomes, but there are still many aspects of management that lack high-level evidence to inform clinical practice. The Advanced Prostate Cancer Consensus Conference (APCCC) 2019 addressed some of these topics to supplement guidelines that are based on level 1 evidence. OBJECTIVE: To present the results from the APCCC 2019. DESIGN, SETTING, AND PARTICIPANTS: Similar to prior conferences, experts identified 10 important areas of controversy regarding the management of advanced prostate cancer: locally advanced disease, biochemical recurrence after local therapy, treating th..

View full abstract


Awarded by National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)

Funding Acknowledgements

We gratefully acknowledge the following organisations for providing financial support for the APCCC 2019: Canton of Basel, European School of Oncology (ESO), Swiss Cancer League, Swiss Oncology Research Network (SAKK), Prostate Cancer Foundation (PCF), and Cantonal Hospital St. Gallen. We would like to especially thank the Movember Foundation for generously supporting the APCCC 2019. Special thanks also to the EAU, the European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC), the European Society for Radiotherapy and Oncology (ESTRO), and the European School of Oncology (ESO) for their endorsements. We also acknowledge sponsorship from several for-profit organisations, including Astellas, Bayer Health Care, AstraZeneca, MSD, Pfizer Oncology, Janssen Oncology, Sanofi Genzyme, Amgen, Clovis Oncology, Ferring Pharmaceuticals, Ipsen, Roche, Tolmar, Advanced Accelerator Applications, and Orion Pharma (details on sponsorship are available at for-profit organisations supported the conference financially but had no input on the scientific content or the final publication. Ian D. Davis is supported by a National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Practitioner Fellowship (APP1102604). Michael S. Hofman is supported by a clinical fellowship award from the Peter MacCallum Foundation.