Journal article

Development and Reporting of Prediction Models: Guidance for Authors From Editors of Respiratory, Sleep, and Critical Care Journals

Daniel E Leisman, Michael O Harhay, David J Lederer, Michael Abramson, Alex A Adjei, Jan Bakker, Zuhair K Ballas, Esther Barreiro, Scott C Bell, Rinaldo Bellomo, Jonathan A Bernstein, Richard D Branson, Vito Brusasco, James D Chalmers, Sudhansu Chokroverty, Giuseppe Citerio, Nancy A Collop, Colin R Cooke, James D Crapo, Gavin Donaldson Show all

Critical Care Medicine | LIPPINCOTT WILLIAMS & WILKINS | Published : 2020


Prediction models aim to use available data to predict a health state or outcome that has not yet been observed. Prediction is primarily relevant to clinical practice, but is also used in research, and administration. While prediction modeling involves estimating the relationship between patient factors and outcomes, it is distinct from casual inference. Prediction modeling thus requires unique considerations for development, validation, and updating. This document represents an effort from editors at 31 respiratory, sleep, and critical care medicine journals to consolidate contemporary best practices and recommendations related to prediction study design, conduct, and reporting. Herein, we ..

View full abstract

University of Melbourne Researchers


Awarded by National Institutes of Health (NIH)/National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute

Funding Acknowledgements

Dr. Harhay's institution received funding from National Institutes of Health (NIH)/National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute under Award Number K99HL141678. Drs. Harhay, Cooke, and Moorman received support for article research from the NIH. Dr. Lederer received funding from Roche, Regeneron Pharmaceuticals, Boehringer Ingelheim, Sanofi Genzyme, Fibrogen, Global Blood Therapeutics, Galecto, Veracyte, Pliant therapeutics, BMS, and Galapagos. Dr. Abramson's institution received funding from Pfizer, Boehringer-Ingelheim, Sanofi, and GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) (speaker). Dr. Ballas received funding from Immune Deficiency Foundation. Dr. Bernstein received funding from INEOS (Medical Director of Immunosurveillance), Shire, CSL Behring, Pharming, AZ, Sanofi-Regeneron, Optinose, Kalvista, Biocryst, Bernstein Allergy Group (partner), Bernstein Clinical Research Center (partner), and the University of Cincinnati. His institution received funding from NIH UO1 and NIH R34. Dr. Collop's institution received funding from Jazz Pharmaceuticals, and she received funding from UptoDate. Dr. Donaldson received funding from Micom, AstraZeneca, and the Flanders Research Organisation. Dr. Hale's institution received funding from the NIH, and she received funding from National Sleep Foundation. Dr. Kochanek received funding from serving as an expert witness. Dr. Marks' institution received funding from AstraZeneca and GSK. Dr. Moorman received funding from Advanced Medical Predictive Devices, Diagnostics and Displays. Dr. Schatz's institution received funding from Merck, ALK, and Teva. Dr. Stewart's institution received funding from National Institute for Health Research Biomedical Research Centre. Dr. Teboul received funding from Pulsion/Getinge. Dr. Wedzicha received research grant funding from Astra Zeneca, Boehrnger, GSK, Chiesi, Novartis, and Johnson & Johnson. Dr. Maslove was supported by the Southeastern Ontario Academic Medical Organization. The remaining authors have disclosed that they do not have any potential conflicts of interest.