Journal article

Proceedings of the Seventh Annual Deep Brain Stimulation Think Tank: Advances in Neurophysiology, Adaptive DBS, Virtual Reality, Neuroethics and Technology

Adolfo Ramirez-Zamora, James Giordano, Aysegul Gunduz, Jose Alcantara, Jackson N Cagle, Stephanie Cernera, Parker Difuntorum, Robert S Eisinger, Julieth Gomez, Sarah Long, Brandon Parks, Joshua K Wong, Shannon Chiu, Bhavana Patel, Warren M Grill, Harrison C Walker, Simon J Little, Ro'ee Gilron, Gerd Tinkhauser, Wesley Thevathasan Show all



The Seventh Annual Deep Brain Stimulation (DBS) Think Tank held on September 8th of 2019 addressed the most current: (1) use and utility of complex neurophysiological signals for development of adaptive neurostimulation to improve clinical outcomes; (2) Advancements in recent neuromodulation techniques to treat neuropsychiatric disorders; (3) New developments in optogenetics and DBS; (4) The use of augmented Virtual reality (VR) and neuromodulation; (5) commercially available technologies; and (6) ethical issues arising in and from research and use of DBS. These advances serve as both "markers of progress" and challenges and opportunities for ongoing address, engagement, and deliberation as ..

View full abstract


Funding Acknowledgements

AR-Z acknowledges research support by Thomas and Carole Miller. JA acknowledges all the research groups that presented and attended this edition of DBS Think Tank. WGacknowledges collaborators including David Brocker, Isaac Cassar, Karthik Kumaravelu, Jaydeep Sambangi, Steve Schmidt, Chunxiu ``Traci'' Yu, and Dennis Turner. NS and WT acknowledge their clinical team -Kristian Bulluss and San San Xu -and engineering team Hugh McDermott, Wee-Lih Lee, Thushara Perera, James Fallon, Nicola Acevedo and Angus Begg. AB acknowledges technical support provided by Polina Lyuboslavsky, Meredith McCarty, Aurora Weiden, and Madelynne Campbell. GS acknowledges among the many contributors to the INSHAPE study Prof. Bart Nuttin, Prof. Myles Mc Laughlin, Dr. Alexandra Boogers, PhD student, Jana Peeters, PhD student. All other authors report no acknowledgments.