Journal article

Imaging Domain Reversal in an Ultrathin Van der Waals Ferromagnet

David A Broadway, Sam C Scholten, Cheng Tan, Nikolai Dontschuk, Scott E Lillie, Brett C Johnson, Guolin Zheng, Zhenhai Wang, Artem R Oganov, Shangjie Tian, Chenghe Li, Hechang Lei, Lan Wang, Lloyd CL Hollenberg, Jean-Philippe Tetienne

Advanced Materials | Wiley | Published : 2020


The recent isolation of 2D van der Waals magnetic materials has uncovered rich physics that often differs from the magnetic behavior of their bulk counterparts. However, the microscopic details of fundamental processes such as the initial magnetization or domain reversal, which govern the magnetic hysteresis, remain largely unknown in the ultrathin limit. Here a widefield nitrogen-vacancy (NV) microscope is employed to directly image these processes in few-layer flakes of the magnetic semiconductor vanadium triiodide (VI3 ). Complete and abrupt switching of most flakes is observed at fields Hc ≈ 0.5-1 T (at 5 K) independent of thickness. The coercive field decreases as the temperature appro..

View full abstract


Awarded by Australian Research Council (ARC)

Awarded by ARC

Awarded by National Key R&D Program of China

Awarded by National Natural Science Foundation of China

Funding Acknowledgements

D.A.B., S. C. S, and C.T. contributed equally to this work. The authors thank Marcus Doherty and Yuerui Lu for stimulating discussions. The work by the University of Melbourne team was supported by the Australian Research Council (ARC) through grants DE170100129, CE170100012, LE180100037, DP190101506, and FL130100119. B.C.J. acknowledges the AFAiiR node of the NCRIS Heavy Ion Capability for access to ion-implantation facilities. D.A.B. and S. E.L. are supported by an Australian Government Research Training Program Scholarship. The work by the RMIT team was supported by the ARC through grant CE170100039, and was performed in part at the RMIT Micro Nano Research Facility (MNRF) in the Victorian Node of the Australian National Fabrication Facility (ANFF) and the RMIT Microscopy and Microanalysis Facility (RMMF). S.T., C.L., and H.L. are supported by the National Key R&D Program of China (Grant Nos. 2018YFE0202600, 2016YFA0300504) and the National Natural Science Foundation of China (Grant Nos. 11774423, 11822412). Z.W. thanks the computing resources of Tianhe II and the Arcuda super-computer in Skoltech, and acknowledges support by the National Natural Science Foundation of China (Grant No. 11604159).