Journal article

Monocrystalline Antimonene Nanosheets via Physical Vapor Deposition

Sruthi Kuriakose, Shubhendra Kumar Jain, Sherif A Tawfik, Michelle JS Spencer, Billy J Murdoch, Mandeep Singh, Fahmida Rahman, Edwin LH Mayes, Mohammad Yousef Taha, Rajour Tanyi Ako, Vipul Bansal, Taimur Ahmed, Sharath Sriram, Madhu Bhaskaran, Sivacarendran Balendhran, Sumeet Walia



Among the family of elemental 2D materials, antimonene is predicted to have a desirable combination of bandgap tunability and exceptional physical properties. However, there is a lack of a facile synthesis technique to prepare high‐quality antimonene with large aspect ratios on standard SiO2 substrates, hindering wide scale exploration of this material. Here, a physical vapor deposition process to controllably achieve millimeter‐scale, β‐phase, monocrystalline antimonene nanosheets on a SiO2 dielectric substrate is reported. The temperature gradient across the deposition tube is exploited to realize either large‐area nanosheets or single antimonene crystals on‐demand. The composition and qua..

View full abstract

University of Melbourne Researchers


Awarded by Australian Research Council

Funding Acknowledgements

This work was performed in part at the Micro Nano Research Facility (MNRF) in the Victorian Node of the Australian National Fabrication Facility (ANFF). Facilities and technical support from the RMIT Microscopy and Microanalysis Facility, a node of Microscopy Australia, is acknowledged. The authors acknowledge funding from the Australian Research Council through LE150100001, and DP170103477. Scholarship support from the Research Training Program (RTP) scheme of the Australian government is acknowledged (S.K.). This work was supported by the Multi-modal Australian Sciences Imaging and Visualization Environment (MASSIVE) ( theoretical calculations were undertaken with the assistance of resources and services from the National Computational Infrastructure (NCI) supported by the Pawsey Supercomputing Centre with funding from the Australian Government and the Government of Western Australia.