Journal article

Australian recommendations for the management of hepatocellular carcinoma: a consensus statement

John S Lubel, Stuart K Roberts, Simone Strasser, Alexander J Thompson, Jennifer Philip, Mark Goodwin, Stephen Clarke, Darrell HG Crawford, Miriam T Levy, Nick Shackel



Hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) is a leading cause of cancer deaths both globally and in Australia. Surveillance for HCC in at-risk populations allows diagnosis at an early stage, when potentially curable. However, most Australians diagnosed with HCC die of the cancer or of liver disease. In the changing landscape of HCC management, unique challenges may lead to clinical practice variation. As a result, there is a need to identify best practice management of HCC in an Australian context. This consensus statement has been developed for health professionals involved in the care of adult patients with HCC in Australia. It is applicable to specialists, general medical practitioners, nurses, healt..

View full abstract


Funding Acknowledgements

We acknowledge the sponsors for this project, who provided unrestricted financial support to the Gastroenterological Society of Australia (GESA) for the logistics of this project. We confirm sponsors have not had or sought involvement in the selection of the project, design, conduct, analysis or outcomes, or articulation of the results. Sponsors have not been involved with the project committee directly, although they may have been involved through normal operations with project participants (see Competing interests declaration).The sponsors were: Bayer, Medtronic Australasia, Sirtex Medical, Eisia, Novartis and Gilead Sciences.We also acknowledge the following contributors to the development of the document, including involvement with the modified Delphi process: Leon Adams, Golo Ahlenstiel, Peter Angus, Sally Bell, James Burnes, Sarat Chander, Robert Cheng, Asif Chinnaratha, Maria Cigolini, Paul Clark, Olivia Cullen, Anouk Dev, Greg Dore, Michael Fink, Jacob George, Paul Gow, Ingrid Hickman, Thai Hong, Jessica Howell, Ashu Jhamb, David Iser, Will Kemp, Lara Lipton, Gerry MacQuillan, Geoff McCaughan, Kate Muller, Barbara Moore, Michael Ng, Amanda Nicoll, John Olynyk, David Pryor, Kate Reed-Cox, Chris Rogan, Marno Ryan, Glen Schlaphoff, James Seow, William Sievert, Manfred Spanger, Sally Spruce, Katherine Stuart, Tom Sutherland, Caroline Tallis, Niall Tebbutt, Michael Wallace, Martin Weltman, Allan Wigg and Amany Zekry.