Journal article

Differential lysine-mediated allosteric regulation of plant dihydrodipicolinate synthase isoforms

Cody J Hall, Mihwa Lee, Matthew P Boarder, Alexandra M Mangion, Anthony R Gendall, Santosh Panjikar, Matthew A Perugini, Tatiana P Soares da Costa

FEBS JOURNAL | WILEY | Published : 2021


Lysine biosynthesis in plants occurs via the diaminopimelate pathway. The first committed and rate-limiting step of this pathway is catalysed by dihydrodipicolinate synthase (DHDPS), which is allosterically regulated by the end product, l-lysine (lysine). Given that lysine is a common nutritionally limiting amino acid in cereal crops, there has been much interest in probing the regulation of DHDPS. Interestingly, knockouts in Arabidopsis thaliana of each isoform (AtDHDPS1 and AtDHDPS2) result in different phenotypes, despite the enzymes sharing > 85% protein sequence identity. Accordingly, in this study, we compared the catalytic activity, lysine-mediated inhibition and structures of both A...

View full abstract

University of Melbourne Researchers


Awarded by National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia

Awarded by Australian Research Council

Awarded by Australian Research Council Research Hub for Medicinal Agriculture

Funding Acknowledgements

TPSC would like to thank the National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia (APP1091976) and Australian Research Council (DE190100806) for fellowship and funding support, and MAP and SP the Australian Research Council for funding support (DP150103313). Work in ARG's laboratory is supported by the Australian Research Council Research Hub for Medicinal Agriculture (IH180100006). CJH is supported by a La Trobe University Postgraduate Research scholarship and MPB by an Australian Research Training scholarship. ML is supported by the Tracey Banivanua Mar fellowship from La Trobe University. We thank Dr Grant Pearce (University of Canterbury, New Zealand) for supplying pET151/D-Topo harbouring the dapA2 gene. We acknowledge the use of the MX2 beamline at the Australian Synchrotron, part of ANSTO, and made use of the Australian Cancer Research Foundation (ACRF) detector. We also acknowledge the CSIRO Collaborative Crystallisation Centre (; Melbourne, Australia) and thank the La Trobe University Comprehensive Proteomics Platform for providing infrastructure support.