Journal article

Mycoplasma genitalium and Other Reproductive Tract Infections in Pregnant Women, Papua New Guinea, 2015-2017

Michelle JL Scoullar, Philippe Boeuf, Elizabeth Peach, Ruth Fidelis, Kerryanne Tokmun, Pele Melepia, Arthur Elijah, Catriona S Bradshaw, Glenda Fehler, Peter M Siba, Simon Erskine, Elisa Mokany, Elissa Kennedy, Alexandra J Umbers, Stanley Luchters, Leanne J Robinson, Nicholas C Wong, Andrew J Vallely, Steven G Badman, Lisa M Vallely Show all



Much about the range of pathogens, frequency of coinfection, and clinical effects of reproductive tract infections (RTIs) among pregnant women remains unknown. We report on RTIs (Mycoplasma genitalium, Chlamydia trachomatis, Neisseria gonorrhoeae, Trichomonas vaginalis, Treponema pallidum subspecies pallidum, bacterial vaginosis, and vulvovaginal candidiasis) and other reproductive health indicators in 699 pregnant women in Papua New Guinea during 2015-2017. We found M. genitalium, an emerging pathogen in Papua New Guinea, in 12.5% of participants. These infections showed no evidence of macrolide resistance. In total, 74.1% of pregnant women had >1 RTI; most of these infections were treatabl..

View full abstract


Funding Acknowledgements

This work was funded by the Burnet Institute with philanthropic support provided by numerous private and business donors in Australia andPapau New Guinea, including the Bank South Pacific PNG Community Grant, the Gras Foundation, the Finkel Foundation, the June Canavan Foundation, the Naylor Steward Ancillary Fund, and the Chrysalis Foundation. Several authors receive funding from the National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia: Senior Research Fellowship to J.G.B., Program Grant to J.G.B. and B.S.C., Career Development Fellowships to F.J.I.F. and L.J.R., Postgraduate Research Scholarship to C.M. M.J.L.S. received a Basser Research Entry Scholarship from the Royal Australasian College of Physicians Foundation (2018 and 2020). The Burnet Institute is supported by an Operational Infrastructure Grant from the State Government of Victoria, Australia, and the Independent Research Institutes Infrastructure Support Scheme of the National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia.