Journal article

High-mobility p-type semiconducting two-dimensional beta-TeO2

Ali Zavabeti, Patjaree Aukarasereenont, Hayden Tuohey, Nitu Syed, Azmira Jannat, Aaron Elbourne, Kibret A Messalea, Bao Yue Zhang, Billy J Murdoch, James G Partridge, Matthias Wurdack, Daniel L Creedon, Joel van Embden, Kourosh Kalantar-Zadeh, Salvy P Russo, Chris F McConville, Torben Daeneke



Wide-bandgap oxide semiconductors are essential for the development of high-speed and energy-efficient transparent electronics. However, while many high-mobility n-type oxide semiconductors are known, wide-bandgap p-type oxides have carrier mobilities that are one to two orders of magnitude lower due to strong carrier localization near their valence band edge. Here, we report the growth of bilayer beta tellurium dioxide (β-TeO2), which has recently been proposed theoretically as a high-mobility p-type semiconductor, through the surface oxidation of a eutectic mixture of tellurium and selenium. The isolated β-TeO2 nanosheets are transparent and have a direct bandgap of 3.7 eV. Field-effect tr..

View full abstract


Awarded by Australian Research Council (ARC) through the DECRA scheme

Awarded by ARC Centre of Excellence FLEET

Awarded by ARC

Awarded by Jack Brockhoff Foundation (JBF)

Awarded by ARC Centre of Excellence Exciton Science

Funding Acknowledgements

T.D. acknowledges funds received from the Australian Research Council (ARC) through the DECRA scheme (DE190100100). A.Z. thanks the University of Melbourne for the support received through the McKenzie postdoctoral fellowship programme. This work was supported by ARC Centre of Excellence FLEET (CE170100039) and Exciton Science (CE170100026). We thank RMIT University's Microscopy and Microanalysis Facility (RMMF), a linked laboratory of the Australian Microscopy and Microanalysis Research Facility (AMMRF), and RMIT University's MicroNano Research Facility (MNRF) for scientific and technical support. The Cypher ES AFM instrument was funded in part by grant no. LE170100096 from the ARC. This project was also supported by computational resources provided by the Australian government through the National Computational Infrastructure National Facility (NCI-NF) and the Pawsey Supercomputer Centre (ARC). A.E. is supported by the Jack Brockhoff Foundation (JBF grant no. 4655-2019-AE). D.L.C. is supported by the ARC under Discovery Project grant no. DP190102852.