Journal article

AUXIN RESPONSE FACTORS 6 and 17 control the flag leaf angle in rice by regulating secondary cell wall biosynthesis of lamina joints

Guoqiang Huang, Heng Hu, Allison van de Meene, Jiao Zhang, Le Dong, Shuai Zheng, Fengli Zhang, Natalie S Betts, Wanqi Liang, Malcolm J Bennett, Staffan Persson, Dabing Zhang



Flag leaf angle impacts the photosynthetic capacity of densely grown plants and is thus an important agronomic breeding trait for crop architecture and yield. The hormone auxin plays a key role in regulating this trait, yet the underlying molecular and cellular mechanisms remain unclear. Here, we report that two rice (Oryza sativa) auxin response factors (ARFs), OsARF6 and OsARF17, which are highly expressed in lamina joint tissues, control flag leaf angle in response to auxin. Loss-of-function double osarf6 osarf17 mutants displayed reduced secondary cell wall levels of lamina joint sclerenchymatous cells (Scs), resulting in an exaggerated flag leaf angle and decreased grain yield under den..

View full abstract


Awarded by National Key Research and Development Program of China

Awarded by National Natural Science Foundation of China

Awarded by 111 Project

Awarded by China Postdoctoral Science Foundation

Awarded by Shanghai Postdoctoral Excellent Program

Awarded by Australian Research Council

Awarded by Villum Investigator grant

Awarded by DNRF

Awarded by Novo Nordisk Laureate grant

Funding Acknowledgements

This work was supported by the National Key Research and Development Program of China (2016YFD0100804 and 2016YFD0100903), the National Natural Science Foundation of China (31861163002 and 31700276), the Innovative Research Team, Ministry of Education, and 111 Project (B14016), the China Postdoctoral Science Foundation (2019M661486), the fellowship of China Postdoctoral Science Foundation (2021T140446), and Shanghai Post-doctoral Excellent Program (2018063). S.P. acknowledges the Australian Research Council (DP190101941), Villum Investigator (Project ID: 25915), DNRF Chair award (DNRF155), and Novo Nordisk Laureate (NNF19OC0056076) grants.