Journal article

Plasma Amyloid-beta as a Biomarker in Alzheimer's Disease: The AIBL Study of Aging

James K Lui, Simon M Laws, Qiao-Xin Li, Victor L Villemagne, David Ames, Belinda Brown, Ashley I Bush, Karl De Ruyck, Jasmin Dromey, Kathryn A Ellis, Noel G Faux, Jonathan Foster, Christopher Fowler, Veer Gupta, Peter Hudson, Katrina Laughton, Colin L Masters, Kelly Pertile, Alan Rembach, Mira Rimajova Show all

Journal of Alzheimer's Disease | IOS PRESS | Published : 2010


Funding Acknowledgements

Core funding for the study was provided by CSIRO, which was supplemented by "in kind" contributions from the study partners (see The AIBL investigators thank Richard Head of CSIRO for initiating and facilitating the AIBL collaboration. The study also received support from the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) via the Dementia Collaborative Research Centres program (DCRC2). Pfizer International has contributed financial support to assist with analysis of blood samples and to further the AIBL research program. The McCusker Foundation has contributed financial and in-kind support to AIBL. Prof. Pankaj Mehta donated biotinylated polyclonal antibodies specific to A beta<INF>1-40</INF> and A beta<INF>1-42</INF> for this study. Dr. Ashley Bush discloses that he is a shareholder and paid consultant for Prana Biotechnology Ltd. Drs Simon Laws, Veer Gupta and Jonathan Foster are supported by research fellowships from Edith Cowan University. Noel Faux is supported by a NHMRC postdoctoral fellowship. Cassandra Szoeke is partially supported by a research fellowship funded by Alzheimer's Australia. Alzheimer's Australia (Victoria and Western Australia) assisted with promotion of the study and the screening of telephone calls from volunteers. The AIBL team wishes to thank the following clinicians who referred patients with AD and/or MCI to the study: Professor David Ames, Associate Professor Brian Chambers, Professor Edmond Chiu, Dr Roger Clarnette, Associate Professor David Darby, Dr Mary Davison, Dr John Drago, Dr Peter Drysdale, Dr Jacqui Gilbert, Dr Kwang Lim, Professor Nicola Lautenschlager, Dr Dina LoGiudice, Dr Peter McCardle, Dr Steve McFarlane, Dr Alastair Mander, Dr John Merory, Professor Daniel O'Connor, Professor Christopher Rowe, Dr Ron Scholes, Dr Mathew Samuel, Dr Darshan Trivedi, Dr Peter Panegyres and Associate Professor Michael Woodward. We thank all those who participated in the study for their commitment and dedication to helping advance research into the early detection and causation of AD.