Journal article

Evaluation of Candidate Stromal Epithelial Cross-Talk Genes Identifies Association between Risk of Serous Ovarian Cancer and TERT, a Cancer Susceptibility "Hot-Spot''

Sharon E Johnatty, Jonathan Beesley, Xiaoqing Chen, Stuart Macgregor, David L Duffy, Amanda B Spurdle, Anna deFazio, Natalie Gava, Penelope M Webb, Mary Anne Rossing, Jennifer Anne Doherty, Marc T Goodman, Galina Lurie, Pamela J Thompson, Lynne R Wilkens, Roberta B Ness, Kirsten B Moysich, Jenny Chang-Claude, Shan Wang-Gohrke, Daniel W Cramer Show all

PLoS Genetics | PUBLIC LIBRARY SCIENCE | Published : 2010

University of Melbourne Researchers


Awarded by ACS/AOCS - National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia

Awarded by U. S. Army Medical Research and Materiel Command

Awarded by NIH

Awarded by National Cancer Institute

Awarded by Programme of Clinical Biomedical Research

Awarded by Medical Faculty of the University of Ulm

Awarded by Lon V. Smith Foundation

Awarded by National Institutes of Health

Awarded by US Public Health Service

Awarded by National Cancer Institute, NIH, Department of Health and Human Services

Awarded by Cancer Research UK

Awarded by Medical Research Council

Funding Acknowledgements

ACS/AOCS - National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia (# 199600, ACS study; GC-T and PMW); U. S. Army Medical Research and Materiel Command under DAMD17-01-1-0729, Award no. W81XWH-06-1-0220; the Cancer Council Tasmania and Cancer Foundation of Western Australia; Westmead Millennium Foundation and the Westmead Gynaecological Oncology Research Fund, Westmead Hospital, Westmead, NSW, Australia (NG). DOVE - NIH R01CA112523 and RO1 CA87538. HOPE - National Cancer Institute, Award number R01CA095023. The GER (German Ovarian Cancer Study or GOCS) was supported by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research of Germany, Programme of Clinical Biomedical Research grant 01 GB 9401, the genotyping in part by the state of Baden-Wurttemberg through Medical Faculty of the University of Ulm (P. 685) and data management by the German Cancer Research Center. UCI - National Cancer Institute grants CA-58860, CA-92044 and the Lon V. Smith Foundation grant LVS-39420. NECC - National Cancer Institute R01CA54419 and P50CA105009. MAY - National Institutes of Health R01-CA122443. PBCS (POL) - Intramural Research Funds of the National Cancer Institute, Department of Health and Human Services, USA. HAWAII - US Public Health Service grant R01-CA-58598, and contracts N01-CN-55424 and N01-PC-67001 from the National Cancer Institute, NIH, Department of Health and Human Services. SEARCH - programme grant from Cancer Research UK. UKOPS - The work of SAG, SJR, AG-M, and UM was undertaken at UCLH/UCL who received a proportion of funding from the Department of Health's NIHR Biomedical Research Centres funding scheme. The UKOPS study was funded by the Oak Foundation. The funders had no role in study design, data collection and analysis, decision to publish, or preparation of the manuscript.We are grateful to the family and friends of Kathryn Sladek Smith for their generous support of OCAC through their donations to the Ovarian Cancer Research Fund. The PBCS thanks Dr. Louise Brinton and Mark Sherman from the Division of Cancer Epidemiology and Genetics of the National Cancer Institute, USA, Drs. Neonila Szeszenia-Dabrowska and Beata Peplonska of the Nofer Institute of Occupational Medicine (Lodz, Poland), Witold Zatonski of the Department of Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention, The M. Sklodowska-Curie Cancer Center and Institute of Oncology (Warsaw, Poland), and Pei Chao and Michael Stagner from Information Management Services (Sliver Spring MD, USA), for their valuable contributions to the study. The GER study acknowledges Ursula Eilber and Tanja Koehler for competent technical assistance for German Ovarian Cancer study. The AOCS Management Group (D. Bowtell, G. Chenevix-Trench, A. deFazio, D. Gertig, A. Green, P. Webb) gratefully acknowledges the contribution of all the clinical and scientific collaborators (see The AOCS and ACS Management Group (A. Green, P. Parsons, N. Hayward, P. Webb, D. Whiteman) thank all of the project staff and collaborating institutions. We also thank all the participants in all the participating studies.