Journal article

Predictors of rapid cognitive decline in Alzheimer's disease: results from the Australian Imaging, Biomarkers and Lifestyle (AIBL) study of ageing

Alessandro Sona, Ping Zhang, David Ames, Ashley I Bush, Nicola T Lautenschlager, Ralph N Martins, Colin L Masters, Christopher C Rowe, Cassandra Szoeke, Kevin Taddei, Kathryn A Ellis

International Psychogeriatrics | CAMBRIDGE UNIV PRESS | Published : 2012


Funding Acknowledgements

Core funding for the study was provided by CSIRO, which was supplemented by "in kind" contributions from the study partners (Australian Commonwealth Scientific Industrial and Research Organization (CSIRO), University of Melbourne, Neurosciences Australia Ltd. (NSA), Edith Cowan University (ECU), Mental Health Research institute (MHRI), Alzheimer's Australia (AA), National Ageing Research Institute (NARI), Austin Health, University of WA (UWA), CogState Ltd., Macquarie University, Hollywood Private Hospital, and Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital). The AIBL investigators thank Richard Head of CSIRO for initiating and facilitating the AIBL collaboration. The study also received support from the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) via the Dementia Collaborative Research Centres program (DCRC2). Pfizer International has contributed financial support to assist with analysis of blood samples and to further the AIBL research program. Cassandra Szoeke has been partially supported by research fellowships funded by Alzheimer's Australia and the NHMRC. Alzheimer's Australia (Victoria and Western Australia) assisted with promotion of the study and the screening of telephone calls from volunteers. The AIBL team wishes to thank the clinicians who referred patients with AD to the study: Professor David Ames, Associate Professor Brian Chambers, Professor Edmond Chiu, Dr Roger Clarnette, Associate Professor David Darby, Dr Mary Davison, Dr John Drago, Dr Peter Drysdale, Dr Jacqueline Gilbert, Dr Kwang Lim, Professor Nicola Lautenschlager, Dr Dina LoGiudice, Dr Peter McCardle, Dr Steve McFarlane, Dr Alastair Mander, Dr John Merory, Professor Daniel O'Connor, Professor Christopher Rowe, Dr Ron Scholes, Dr Mathew Samuel, Dr Darshan Trivedi, and Associate Professor Michael Woodward. We thank all those who participated in the study for their commitment and dedication to helping advance research into the early detection and causation of AD.