Journal article

Australopithecus sediba at 1.977 Ma and Implications for the Origins of the Genus Homo

Robyn Pickering, Paul HGM Dirks, Zubair Jinnah, Darryl J de Ruiter, Steven E Churchill, Andy IR Herries, Jon D Woodhead, John C Hellstrom, Lee R Berger

Science | AMER ASSOC ADVANCEMENT SCIENCE | Published : 2011


Awarded by Swiss National Research Foundation

Awarded by Australian Research Council

Funding Acknowledgements

We thank the South African Heritage Resources and the Nash family. Funding was received from the South African Department of Science and Technology, South African National Research Foundation, Institute for Human Evolution, University of the Witwatersrand, University of the Witwatersrand's Vice Chancellor's Discretionary Fund, National Geographic Society, Palaeontological Scientific Trust, Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, Ford Foundation, U.S. Diplomatic Mission to South Africa, French Embassy of South Africa, Oppenheimer and Ackerman families, and Sir Richard Branson. Thanks also to the University of the Witwatersrand's Schools of Geosciences and Anatomical Sciences, Bernard Price Institute for Palaeontology; Gauteng Government, Gauteng Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Environment, Cradle of Humankind Management Authority; E. Mbua, P. Kiura, and V. Iminjili at the National Museums of Kenya for access to comparative specimens; and the University of Zurich 2010 Field School. For the fossil preparation, we thank C. Dube, C. Kemp, M. Kgasi, M. Languza, J. Malaza, G. Mokoma, P. Mukanela, T. Nemvhundi, M. Ngcamphalala, S. Jirah, S. Tshabalala, and C. Yates. Others who have given significant support are B. de Klerk, W. Lawrence, C. Steininger, B. Kuhn, L. Pollarolo, J. Kretzen, D. Conforti, C. Dlamini, H. Visser, B. Nkosi, B. Louw, L. Backwell, F. Thackeray, M. Peltier, and M. Klinkmuller. Further acknowledgements are given to Texas A&M University (The Ray A. Rothrock '77 Fellowship, the Program to Enhance Scholarly and Creative Activities, and the International Research Travel Assistance Grant of Texas A&M University), Swiss National Research Foundation (PBBEP2-126195), Australian Research Council (DP0877603), University of Melbourne (McKenzie Fellowship), Liverpool University Geomagnetism Laboratory staff, AfricaArray, James Cook University, and the BHPBilliton Geosciences staff development program.