Journal article

Homocysteine, Vitamin B12, and Folic Acid Levels in Alzheimer's Disease, Mild Cognitive Impairment, and Healthy Elderly: Baseline Characteristics in Subjects of the Australian Imaging Biomarker Lifestyle Study

Noel G Faux, Kathryn A Ellis, Lorine Porter, Chris J Fowler, Simon M Laws, Ralph N Martins, Kelly K Pertile, Alan Rembach, Chris C Rowe, Rebecca L Rumble, Cassandra Szoeke, Kevin Taddei, Tania Taddei, Brett O Trounson, Victor L Villemagne, Vanessa Ward, David Ames, Colin L Masters, Ashley I Bush

Journal of Alzheimer's Disease | IOS PRESS | Published : 2011


Funding Acknowledgements

Core funding for the study was provided by CSIRO, which was supplemented by "in kind" contributions from the study partners (see The AIBL investigators thank Richard Head of CSIRO for initiating and facilitating the AIBL collaboration. The study also received support from the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) via the Dementia Collaborative Research Centres program (DCRC2). Pfizer International has contributed financial support to assist with analysis of blood samples and to further the AIBL research program. The McCusker Foundation has contributed financial and in-kind support to AIBL. Faux NG is supported by, a National Health and Medical Research Council training fellowship. Laws SM is supported by research fellowships from Edith Cowan University. Szoeke C is partially supported by a research fellowship funded by Alzheimer's Australia. Bush AI is supported by the NHMRC by a program grant and an Australian Fellowship. Alzheimer's Australia (Victoria and Western Australia) assisted with promotion of the study and the screening of telephone calls from volunteers. The AIBL team wishes to thank the following clinicians who referred patients with AD and/or MCI to the study: Associate Professor Brian Chambers, Professor Edmond Chiu, Dr Roger Clarnette, Associate Professor David Darby, Dr Mary Davison, Dr John Drago, Dr Peter Drysdale, Dr Jacqui Gilbert, Dr Kwang Lim, Professor Nicola Lautenschlager, Dr Dina LoGiudice, Dr Peter McCardle, Dr Steve McFarlane, Dr Alastair Mander, Dr John Merory, Professor Daniel O'Connor, Dr Ron Scholes, Dr Mathew Samuel, Dr Darshan Trivedi, Dr. Peter Panegyres and Associate Professor Michael Woodward. We thank all those who participated in the study for their commitment and dedication to helping advance research into the early detection and causation of AD.