Journal article

Global and regional mortality from 235 causes of death for 20 age groups in 1990 and 2010: a systematic analysis for the Global Burden of Disease Study 2010 (vol 380, pg 2095, 2012)

R Lozano, M Naghavi, K Foreman, Mohammad A AlMazroa, Ziad A Memish

The Lancet | ELSEVIER SCIENCE INC | Published : 2013


Awarded by NIH

Awarded by Swedish Research Council

Awarded by Medical Research Council




Awarded by Grants-in-Aid for Scientific Research

Funding Acknowledgements

E R Dorsey has received consulting fees from Medtronic and Lundbeck and research support from Lundbeck and Prana Biotechnology. M Ezzati chaired a session and gave a talk at the World Cardiology Congress (WCC), with travel cost reimbursed by the World Heart Federation. At the WCC, he also gave a talk at a session organised by PepsiCo with no financial or other renumeration. P J Hotez reports holding several positions: Dean, National School of Tropical Medicine, Baylor College of Medicine; Director, Sabin Vaccine Institute Texas Children's Hospital Center for Vaccine Development; and President, Sabin Vaccine Institute. He also is an inventor on several patents: 5,527,937 "Hookworm Anticoagulant"; 5,753,787 "Nucleic Acids for Ancylostoma Secreted Proteins"; 7,303,752 B2 "Hookworm vaccine"; 12/492,734 "Human Hookworm Vaccine"; 61/077,256 "Multivalent Anthelminthic Vaccine"; and PCT-20100701/ "Malaria Transmission blocking vaccine". G A Mensah is a former employee of PepsiCo. F Perez-Ruiz was an adviser for Ardea, Menarini, Novartis, and Metabolex; was a member of the Speaker's Bureau for Menarini, Novartis; an adviser for educational issues for Savient; led an investigation grants for the Spanish Health Ministry, Hospital de Cruces Rheumatology Association; and was principal investigator in clinical trials for Ardea.We would like to thank the countless individuals who have contributed to the Global Burden of Disease 2010 Study in various capacities. We would also like to specifically acknowledge the important contribution to this work from multiple staff members of the WHO. We also wish to thank the following organisations that hosted consultations during the final stages of the analytic process, providing valuable feedback about the results and the data to improve the study's findings overall: Pan American Health Organisation; Eastern Mediterranean Regional Office of WHO; UNAIDS; Ministry of Health, Brazil; China Centers for Disease Control; and the University of Zambia. We would like to thank Cynthia Boschi Pinto for her input into the analyses and estimates. Finally, we would like to acknowledge the extensive support from all staff members at the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation and specifically thank: James Bullard, Andrew Ernst, and Serkan Yalcin for their tireless support of the computational infrastructure required to produce the results; Linda A Ettinger for her expert administrative support and facilitating communication and coordination among the authors; Peter Speyer, Abigail McLain, Katherine Leach-Kemon, and Eden Stork for their persistent and invaluable work to gain access to and catalogue as much data as possible to inform the estimates; and Erin C Mullany for her systematic efforts in organising drafts of papers, formatting correspondence with expert groups, and preparing the final manuscript. The following individuals would like to acknowledge various forms of institutional support. J P Abraham acknowledges the World Bank Global Road Safety Facility and Department of Global Health & Population, Harvard School of Public Health, and the WHO Violence and Injury Prevention. K Bhalla was supported by the World Bank Global Road Safety Facility for researcher salaries, to pay for many small projects in Africa to digitise secondary data sources, and supporting several gatherings of the injury expert group over the past 6 years. B Bikbov acknowledges the Moscow State University of Medicine and Dentistry, Moscow, Russia; Academician V I Shumakov Federal Research Centre of Transplantology and Artificial Organs, Moscow, Russia; and International Society of Nephrology. G L Birbeck has received research funding from the US NIH, the Dana Foundation, and the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation; she has also received travel grants from the WHO for related work. H Chen acknowledges his participation in this study was in part supported by the intramural research program of the NIH, the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences. L E Coffeng received financial support from the African Programme for Onchocerciasis Control (WHO/APOC) for work on onchocerciasis. M Cortinovis, F Gaspari, and N Perico acknowledge the International Society of Nephrology (ISN) on the behalf of the entire Genitourinary Expert Group. M Cross and L March acknowledge the University of Sydney (USYD); Institute of Bone and Joint Research, University of Sydney, Department of Rheumatology, Royal North Shore Hospital, St Leonards NSW 2065 Australia. N Dahodwala was supported by NIH grant K23 AG034236 and the Parkinson Council while working on this project. L Degenhardt is supported by an Australian NHMRC Senior Research Fellowship and funding to support work on illicit drug dependence was provided by the Australian National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre of the University of New South Wales, NSW, Australia.R Havmoeller is supported by a grant from the Swedish Research Council (#2011-1071). D Hoy was supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and the Australian National Health and Medical Research Council. P J Hotez acknowledges grant support from several sources: the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation regarding human hookworm vaccine through the Sabin Institute (Human Hookworm Vaccine Initiative 1 Human Hookworm Vaccine Initiative; Human Hookworm Vaccine Initiative 3 Clinical Development and Evaluation of the Na-GST-1 and Na-APR-1 Hookworm Vaccine Antigen); the National Institutes of Health (Product development of a membrane tetraspanin vaccine against schistosomiasis; RBD Recombinant Protein-based SARS Vaccine for Biodefense); and the Dutch Government (Product Development Support of the Human Hookworm Vaccine). K H Jacobsen was supported by the WHO for her work on Hepatitis A. B M Mayosi was funded by the Lily and Ernst Hausmann Research Trust. T R Merriman acknowledges the Health Research Council of New Zealand. D Ozgediz is grateful for the collaboration colleagues at Mulago Hospital and Makerere University in Kampala, Uganda. B Pahari would like to thank the Mario Negri Institute. U Sampson was funded in part by The Harold Amos Medical Faculty Development Award of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and The Vanderbilt Clinical and Translational Scholars Award. M Segui-Gomez's participation was partly supported by funds of the European Center for Injury Prevention, Universidad de Navarra. E Smith acknowledges Department of Health and Ageing, Commonwealth Government of Australia, Institute of Bone and Joint Research (IBJR), University of Sydney (USYD), Department of Rheumatology, Royal North Shore Hospital, St Leonards NSW 2065 Australia. L Rushton was supported by honorarium for board membership of the European Centre for Ecotoxicology and Toxicology of Chemicals; research grants to Imperial College London (as PI) from the European Chemical Industry Council (CEFIC) and CONCAWE (Conservation of Clean Air and Water Europe). P Yip was supported by a General Research Grant at the University of Hong Kong.