Journal article

Fractal morphology, imaging and mass spectrometry of single aerosol particles in flight

ND Loh, CY Hampton, AV Martin, D Starodub, RG Sierra, A Barty, A Aquila, J Schulz, L Lomb, J Steinbrener, RL Shoeman, S Kassemeyer, C Bostedt, J Bozek, SW Epp, B Erk, R Hartmann, D Rolles, A Rudenko, B Rudek Show all

Nature | NATURE PUBLISHING GROUP | Published : 2012

University of Melbourne Researchers


Awarded by Hamburg School for Structure and Dynamics in Infection, CBST at UC

Awarded by US Department of Energy, National Nuclear Security Administration

Awarded by University of California

Funding Acknowledgements

Experiments were carried out at the Linac Coherent Light Source, a national user facility operated by Stanford University on behalf of the US Department of Energy (DOE), Office of Basic Energy Sciences. N.D.L., C.Y.H., R. G. S., P. B. and M.J.B. were supported by the AMOS program within the Chemical Sciences, Geosciences, and Biosciences Division of the Office of Basic Energy Sciences, Office of Science, US Department of Energy. M.J.B. acknowledges support by the SLAC Laboratory Directed Research and Development Program. We acknowledge support from the Max Planck Society for funding the development and operation of the CAMP instrument within the ASG at CFEL, the Hamburg Ministry of Science and Research and Joachim Herz Stiftung as part of the Hamburg Initiative for Excellence in Research (LEXI) and the Hamburg School for Structure and Dynamics in Infection, CBST at UC under Cooperative Agreement number PHY 0120999. Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL) is operated by Lawrence Livermore National Security, LLC, for the US Department of Energy, National Nuclear Security Administration under Contract DE-AC52-07NA27344. Work by LLNL has been supported, in part, by University of California Laboratory Fee grant 09-LR-05-118036-BARA. We also acknowledge support from the Swedish Research Council, the European Research Council, Knut och Alice Wallenbergs Stiftelse, and the DFG Cluster of Excellence at the Munich Centre for Advanced Photonics. We acknowledge the staff of the LCLS for their support in carrying out these experiments. The Max Planck Advanced Study Group at CFEL acknowledges technical support by R. Andritschke, K. Gartner, O. Halker, S. Herrmann, A. Homke, Ch. Kaiser, K.-U. Kuhnel, W. Leitenberger, D. Miessner, D. Pietschner, M. Porro, R. Richter, G. Schaller, C. Schmidt, F. Schopper, C.-D. Schroter, Ch. Thamm, A. Walenta, A. Ziegler and H. Gorke. N.D.L. thanks M. J. Berg, G. Simpson, G. Williams and J. Hajdu for their critique, and G. M. Stewart for rendering the experiment's schematic.