Journal article

Profits and pandemics: prevention of harmful effects of tobacco, alcohol, and ultra-processed food and drink industries

Rob Moodie, David Stuckler, Carlos Monteiro, Nick Sheron, Bruce Neal, Thaksaphon Thamarangsi, Paul Lincoln, Sally Casswell

The Lancet | ELSEVIER SCIENCE INC | Published : 2013


Awarded by Medical Research Council

Funding Acknowledgements

BN is the Chair of the Australian Division of World Action on Salt and Health (2007-ongoing). He has consulted to Roche (2010) and Takeda (2010). He has received lecture fees, travel fees, or reimbursements from Abbott (2012), Amgen (2007), AstraZeneca (2010), GeorgeClinical (2012), GlaxoSmithKline (2007), Novartis (2012), PepsiCo (2011), Pfizer (2011), Pharmacy Guild of Australia (2012), Roche (2012), Sanofi-Aventis (2006), Servier (2008), and Tanabe (2007). He holds research support from the Australian Food and Grocery Council (2012), Bupa Australia (2012), Johnson and Johnson (2012), Merck Schering Plough (2011), Roche (2012), Servier (2012), and United Healthcare Group (2012). He is not employed by a commercial entity; has no equity ownership or stock options, patents, or royalties; and has no other financial or non-financial support that might be viewed as creating potential conflicts of interest. NS is co-chair of the UK Government Responsibility Deal network, trustee of the Drinkaware Trust, member of the EU Alcohol and Health Forum, and was a member of the Public Health Commission-all bodies with alcohol industry representation. NS is also a member of the Alcohol Health Alliance UK executive board, Royal College of Physicians' alcohol committee, and is involved in other health NGOs including Alcohol Concern. None of these commitments included financial gain but some have reimbursed travelling expenses.BN is supported by an Australian Research Council Future Fellowship. CM acknowledges discussions with and suggestions from Geoffrey Cannon and other colleagues at the Centre for Epidemiological Studies in Health and Nutrition at the University of Sao Paulo, Brazil. The authors would like to acknowledge the assistance of Robert Beaglehole and Ruth Bonita in the preparation of this paper.