Journal article

Antiapoptotic Mcl-1 is critical for the survival and niche-filling capacity of Foxp3( ) regulatory T cells

Wim Pierson, Benedicte Cauwe, Antonia Policheni, Susan M Schlenner, Dean Franckaert, Julien Berges, Stephanie Humblet-Baron, Susann Schonefeldt, Marco J Herold, David Hildeman, Andreas Strasser, Philippe Bouillet, Li-Fan Lu, Patrick Matthys, Antonio A Freitas, Rita J Luther, Casey T Weaver, James Dooley, Daniel HD Gray, Adrian Liston

Nature Immunology | NATURE PUBLISHING GROUP | Published : 2013


Awarded by Interuniversity Attraction Poles

Awarded by Australian National Health and Medical Research Council (CDF-1)

Funding Acknowledgements

We thank P. Fink (University of Washington, Seattle) for providing Rag2-GFP-Tg mice backcrossed to the B6 background, L. Hennighausen (US National Institutes of Health) for providing Bcl2l1<SUP>fx</SUP> mice, A. Rudensky (Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center) for providing Foxp3<SUP>GFP</SUP>, Foxp3<SUP>Cre</SUP>, Foxp3<SUP>Thy1.1</SUP> and Foxp3<SUP>DTR</SUP> mice, G. Kelly and S. Grabow (Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research) for CreERT2Mcl1<SUP>fl</SUP> and CreERT2Bcl2l1<SUP>flox</SUP> mice and Bcl2<SUP>-/-</SUP> fetal liver samples, F. Kupresanin, G. Siciliano, G.-F. Dabrowski, K. Humphreys and E. Lanera (Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research) for technical assistance, S. Korsmeyer (Harvard Medical School) for BaxflBak1<SUP>-/-</SUP> mice, and A. Kallies for critical feedback on the manuscript. This work was supported by grants from the VIB, Marie Curie (TREG to A. L.), European Research Council (IMMUNO to A. L.), Interuniversity Attraction Poles (VII/39 to A. L and P. M.), QSIS (to A. A. F.) and the Australian National Health and Medical Research Council (CDF-1 #637353 to D. H. D. G.). W. P. is funded by Agentschap voor Innovatie door Wetenschap en Technologie. B. C., S. M. S. and S.H.-B. are funded by the Fonds Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek. This work was made possible through Victorian State Government Operational Infrastructure Support and the Australian Government National Health and Medical Research Council Independent Research Institutes Infrastructure Support Scheme.