Journal article

Early Goal-Directed Sedation Versus Standard Sedation in Mechanically Ventilated Critically Ill Patients: A Pilot Study

Yahya Shehabi, Rinaldo Bellomo, Michael C Reade, Michael Bailey, Frances Bass, Belinda Howe, Colin McArthur, Lynne Murray, Ian M Seppelt, Steve Webb, Leonie Weisbrodt

Critical Care Medicine | LIPPINCOTT WILLIAMS & WILKINS | Published : 2013


Funding Acknowledgements

Drs. Shehabi, Bellomo, Reade, Bailey, and Ms. Howe had full access to the data and participated in the analysis and interpretation of the data. Drs. Shehabi, Bellomo, Reade, Webb, Seppelt, McArthur, Bass, and Weisbrodt participated in the study concept and design. Drs. Bailey, Howe, Bass, Weisbrodt, Murray participated in the acquisition of data and data management. Drs. Bailey, Shehabi, Bellomo, Reade, Seppelt, Webb, Murray, and McArthur participated in analysis and interpretation of data. Drs. Shehabi, Bellomo, Seppelt, Reade, Webb and McArthur participated in drafting of the manuscript. Drs. Shehabi, Bellomo, Reade, Bailey, Seppelt, Webb, McArthur, Bass, Murray and Weisbrodt participated in critical review and intellectual input. This study was conducted in collaboration with the Australian New Zealand Intensive Care Research Centre (ANZIC RC) and the department of epidemiology and preventive medicine of the faculty of medicine at Monash University, Melbourne, Australia. Hospira and its employees had no input into the design, protocol, study conduct, data collection, data analysis, manuscript preparation, review and submission. However, Hospira, Melbourne, Australia, provided the study drug dexmedetomidine at no cost to study sites. Supported, in part, by an unrestricted Grant-In-Aid from Hospira, Lake Forest, IL. Dr. Shehabi has received unrestricted Grant-In-Aid research grants from Hospira Inc. (Lake Forest, IL); research grants from Roche Diagnostics and Thermofisher Scientific; competitive research funding grants from National Health and Medical Research Council, Australia. Dr. Shehabi's research department has received payment for article preparation for being part of SEDCOM delirium manuscript review 2009; and speakers' honoraria and consulting fee from Hospira and Roche Diagnostics. He was on an advisory boards for Hospira and GSK and has received payment from GSK for the development of educational material approved by College of Intensive Care Medicine of ANZ. Dr. Reade has received a consulting fee and research grants from Hospira. Dr. McArthur has received grant support, travel reimbursements, and provisions for writing assistance from Hospira Australia. Dr. Seppelt was on an advisory board in Intensive Care supported by Hospira; has received competitive research funding grants from National Health and Medical Research Council, Australia; and has received payment for the development of educational presentations from Asklepios Medical Education. Dr. Webb has consulted for Aalix Healthcare Services Consulting, Ibis Biosciences, Astra Zeneca, Jansen Cilag, and has received grant support from Fresenius Kabi. The remaining authors have not disclosed any potential conflicts of interest.