Journal article

Health behaviours, socioeconomic status and diabetes incidence: the Australian Diabetes Obesity and Lifestyle Study (AusDiab)

ED Williams, RJ Tapp, DJ Magliano, JE Shaw, PZ Zimmet, BF Oldenburg

Diabetologia | SPRINGER | Published : 2010


Awarded by NHMRC

Funding Acknowledgements

Thanks to Professor A. Forbes, from Monash University, for his contribution towards the statistical discussion. E.D. Williams was funded by travelling fellowships from the European Association for the Study of Diabetes and the British Council to complete this work. J.E. Shaw is supported by an NHMRC Fellowship (586623). The AusDiab study co-coordinated by the Baker IDI Heart and Diabetes Institute, gratefully acknowledges the generous support given by: National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC grant 233200); Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing; Abbott Australasia Pty; Alphapharm Pty; AstraZeneca; Bristol-Myers Squibb; City Health Centre-Diabetes Service-Canberra; Department of Health and Community Services, NT; Department of Health and Human Services, TAS; Department of Health, NSW; Department of Health, WA; Department of Health, SA; Department of Human Services, VIC; Diabetes Australia; Diabetes Australia NT; Eli Lilly Australia; estate of the late E. Wilson; GlaxoSmithKline; Jack Brockhoff Foundation; Janssen-Cilag; Kidney Health Australia; Marian & FH Flack Trust; Menzies Research Institute; Merck Sharp & Dohme; Novartis Pharmaceuticals; Novo Nordisk Pharmaceuticals; Pfizer Pty; Pratt Foundation; Queensland Health; Roche Diagnostics Australia; Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Sydney; sanofi-aventis; and sanofi-synthelabo. Also, for their invaluable contribution to the set-up and field activities of AusDiab, we are enormously grateful to A. Allman, B. Atkins, S. Bennett, A. Bonney, S. Chadban, M. de Courten, M. Dalton, D. Dunstan, T. Dwyer, H. Jahangir, D. Jolley, D. McCarty, A. Meehan, N. Meinig, S. Murray, K. O'Dea, K. Polkinghorne, P. Phillips, C. Reid, A. Stewart, R. Tapp, H. Taylor, T. Whalen and F. Wilson.