Journal article


K Vanderlinde, TM Crawford, T de Haan, JP Dudley, L Shaw, PAR Ade, KA Aird, BA Benson, LE Bleem, M Brodwin, JE Carlstrom, CL Chang, AT Crites, S Desai, MA Dobbs, RJ Foley, EM George, MD Gladders, NR Hall, NW Halverson Show all


University of Melbourne Researchers


Awarded by National Science Foundation (NSF)

Awarded by NSF Physics Frontier Center

Awarded by Office of Science of the U.S. Department of Energy

Awarded by Office of Science, Office of High Energy Physics, of the U.S. Department of Energy

Awarded by Hubble Fellowship

Awarded by Direct For Mathematical & Physical Scien

Funding Acknowledgements

The SPT team gratefully acknowledges the contributions to the design and construction of the telescope by S. Busetti, E. Chauvin, T. Hughes, P. Huntley, and E. Nichols and his team of iron workers. We also thank the National Science Foundation (NSF) Office of Polar Programs, the United States Antarctic Program and the Raytheon Polar Services Company for their support of the project. We are grateful for professional support from the staff of the South Pole station. We thank H.-M. Cho, T. Lanting, J. Leong, W. Lu, M. Runyan, D. Schwan, M. Sharp, and C. Greer for their early contributions to the SPT project and J. Joseph and C. Vu for their contributions to the electronics. We acknowledge S. Alam, W. Barkhouse, S. Bhattacharya, L. Buckley-Greer, S. Hansen, H. Lin, Y-T Lin, C. Smith, and D. Tucker for their contribution to BCS data acquisition, and we acknowledge the DESDM team, which has developed the tools we used to process and calibrate the BCS dataWe acknowledge the use of the Legacy Archive for Microwave Background Data Analysis (LAMBDA). Support for LAMBDA is provided by the NASA Office of Space Science. This research was facilitated in part by allocations of time on the COSMOS supercomputer at DAMTP in Cambridge, a UK-CCC facility supported by HEFCE and PPARC. This work is based in part on observations obtained at the Cerro Tololo Inter-American Observatory, and the Las Campanas Observatory. CTIO is operated by the Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy (AURA), Inc., under cooperative agreement with the National Science Foundation (NSF).The South Pole Telescope is supported by the National Science Foundation through grants ANT-0638937 and ANT-0130612. Partial support is also provided by the NSF Physics Frontier Center grant PHY-0114422 to the Kavli Institute of Cosmological Physics at the University of Chicago, the Kavli Foundation and the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation. This research used resources of the National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center, which is supported by the Office of Science of the U.S. Department of Energy under Contract No. DE-AC02-05CH11231. This work is supported in part by the Director, Office of Science, Office of High Energy Physics, of the U.S. Department of Energy under Contract No. DE-AC02-05CH11231. The McGill group acknowledges funding from the National Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada, the Quebec Fonds de recherche sur la nature et les technologies, and the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research. Partial support was provided by NSF grant MRI-0723073. The following individuals acknowledge additional support: A. L. and B. S. from the Brinson Foundation, B. A. B. and K. K. S. from KICP Fellowships, J.J.M. from a Fermi Fellowship, R.J.F. from a Clay Fellowship, D. P. M. from Hubble Fellowship grant HF-51259.01-A, M. B. from the Keck Foundation, Z.S. from a GAAN Fellowship, and A. T. L. from the Miller Institute