Journal article

A review of the scope and measurement of postoperative quality of recovery

A Bowyer, J Jakobsson, O Ljungqvist, C Royse

ANAESTHESIA | WILEY | Published : 2014


To date, postoperative quality of recovery lacks a universally accepted definition and assessment technique. Current quality of recovery assessment tools vary in their development, breadth of assessment, validation, use of continuous vs dichotomous outcomes and focus on individual vs group recovery. They have progressed from identifying pure restitution of physiological parameters to multidimensional assessments of postoperative function and patient-focused outcomes. This review focuses on the progression of these tools towards an as yet unreached ideal that would provide multidimensional assessment of recovery over time at the individual and group level. A literature search identified 11 un..

View full abstract


Awarded by Alberta Innovates

Funding Acknowledgements

JJ, OL and CR are members of the PQRS Scientific Committee, with CR serving as the Chair. CR and JJ have both received previous funding from Baxter Healthcare, with JJ currently serving on the Baxter Healthcare Advisory Board. OL is the Chairman of the ERAS Society (see, has financial stock in Encare AB, has received honoraria for presentations from 3M, B Braun and Merck and is an advisor for Nutricia. Although authors have received previous support from Baxter, no external funding or support were involved in this review.